Blessing and a curse
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, August 29
As Labor Day nears, some people may think of those working in the Eagle Ford Shale, many of whom are not able to enjoy a holiday weekend. In the last few days, two major articles have caught our eye – again describing the pros and cons of this eco...

Latest Editorials

Avoiding school daze
Most parents can be easily identified by their broad grins as children began the new school year. But for those of us...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 27
full story
Riding a cool wave
File this away under wishful thinking. The Beeville Art Museum presented a free screening of a family-friendly movie ...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 22
full story
Reminder: limit watering
Sadly, it’s getting drier and drier. Bee County remains under a burn ban; underground water tables are dropping; and ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 20
full story
Generosity’s valuable lesson
It’s sunshine and a thousand degrees every day; the football teams and bands are outside sweating on the practice fie...
04:00 PM, Friday, August 15
full story
Be the exception
If only... Those words sometimes stand between a man (or woman) and a rewarding career; Or an honest, drug-free life,...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, August 13
full story
Major hang-up rectified?
Can you hear them now? Many Bee Countians certainly hope so. For several weeks, county offices have been plagued with...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 08
full story
Summerfest-ivities ready to heat up the nights
Bee County Chamber of Commerce officials are cautiously optimistic as they head into the big Summerfest weekend. “Wed...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 06
full story
No kidding around with heat
August, usually the hottest time of the year, has arrived. In addition, Thursday (July 31) officially was declared Na...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 01
full story
Return to border crisis
Another week, another unresolved federal crisis. We read with great interest in this week’s Goliad Advance-Guard abou...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 30
full story
Aiming for large turnout
How ’bout some guns and barbecue? Toss in some horses and that would be what commonly is perceived as an ideal gather...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 25
full story
Problem at our doorstep
Many readers of our sister publication, The Karnes Countywide, were surprised this week to learn that a Karnes County...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 23
full story
Reinforcing conservation
We knew it wouldn’t last. The wetter, cooler May-June has turned back into the customary hot, dry July, and our nearb...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 16
full story
Hobby Lobby ruling not the misogyny left makes out
It has long been suspected that the Supreme Court hates women, although it took the court’s 5-4 decision in the Hobby...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 11
full story
Eagle Ford swings a double-edged sword
Once again, we have an unobstructed, close-up view of the pros and cons of residing in the Eagle Ford Shale. In Satur...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, July 09
full story
Timely tribute reminds us of America’s best
Just when you think things couldn’t get much worse... From the unaccompanied illegal immigrant children pouring acros...
04:00 PM, Friday, July 04
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »