Return to border crisis
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 30
Another week, another unresolved federal crisis. We read with great interest in this week’s Goliad Advance-Guard about a large amount of drugs seized after suspected illegal immigrants bailed out of a vehicle Sunday. The vehicle came to a stop in ...

Latest Editorials

Aiming for large turnout
How ’bout some guns and barbecue? Toss in some horses and that would be what commonly is perceived as an ideal gather...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 25
full story
Problem at our doorstep
Many readers of our sister publication, The Karnes Countywide, were surprised this week to learn that a Karnes County...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 23
full story
Reinforcing conservation
We knew it wouldn’t last. The wetter, cooler May-June has turned back into the customary hot, dry July, and our nearb...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 16
full story
Hobby Lobby ruling not the misogyny left makes out
It has long been suspected that the Supreme Court hates women, although it took the court’s 5-4 decision in the Hobby...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 11
full story
Eagle Ford swings a double-edged sword
Once again, we have an unobstructed, close-up view of the pros and cons of residing in the Eagle Ford Shale. In Satur...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, July 09
full story
Timely tribute reminds us of America’s best
Just when you think things couldn’t get much worse... From the unaccompanied illegal immigrant children pouring acros...
04:00 PM, Friday, July 04
full story
Extra reasons for celebrating this Fourth
As most of us are preparing for the July 4th holiday weekend, some recent developments deserve mention. First, Coasta...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, July 02
full story
Most in surge of child border crossers aren’t leaving
Of the more than 24,000 unaccompanied children who entered the United States illegally last year, most haven’t left —...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 27
full story
When are they going to wake up in Washington?
The headlines keep getting more dire and troubling. In Tuesday morning’s Corpus Christi Caller-Times: “Tension rises ...
04:00 PM, Thursday, June 26
full story
Props for Kids College changes
Three cheers for Coastal Bend College. Better make that four cheers, as all four campuses participated by hosting abo...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 20
full story
Noticeable improvement to Spohn Hospital’s ER
Count us among those impressed. A nice turnout of members of the Bee County medical community, Chamber of Commerce an...
07:00 AM, Thursday, June 19
full story
Don’t get skunked
After an unusually cooler, wetter end of spring, the dog days of summer are fast approaching. And this year, in addit...
08:00 PM, Saturday, June 14
full story
Surge of kids crossing border means trouble
What started as a trickle has turned into a steady, troubling flow. Articles in the national and international media ...
12:00 PM, Wednesday, June 11
full story
Long way from D-Day
So, let us get this straight. Our so-called American leaders traded five dangerous Taliban leaders for one apparent U...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 06
full story
Making pitch for progress
Some of us remember watching the Bee County College Cougars, coached by Bob Leach, playing their home baseball games ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 04
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Jul 25 at 06:18 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Thursday, Jul 24 at 05:28 PM »
« mlwkelley wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 07:52 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 06:59 PM »