EFS boom showing no signs of slowing down
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, September 26
“How long is it going to last?” That’s the $64 billion question – adjusted to Eagle Ford Shale values. Many of us who reside amidst this productive oil and gas play in South Texas get asked that fairly often. Truthfully, we have no idea. However, ...

Latest Editorials

Bravery personified: Bee sting response answers age-old qu...
What an inspirational story that appeared in last weekend’s issue. It continues to be one of the most popular on our ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 30
full story
The scarlet letter
So after going to press Wednesday morning, Dennis DeWitt, director of the community affairs department of Bee County,...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 25
full story
Court, Stasny could well be losers in DeWitt case
The Bee County Commissioners Court’s handling of the curious case of Dennis DeWitt is disturbing in so many ways. The...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 23
full story
Juneteenth offers barbecue to gospel
This country is founded in freedom, but that wasn’t always the case for some of our citizens. Saturday we celebrate t...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 18
full story
Bright smiles, kind hands
The calendar says the official start of summer is still a few days away (June 21) but the thermometer confirms the st...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 16
full story
Wasteful development?
Is this really necessary? The Beeville Economic Improvement Corporation (EIC) board apparently is intent on hiring a ...
04:00 PM, Friday, June 11
full story
Suckered: Part & parcel of a hoax
Never in our wildest dreams did we think when putting the Bee-Picayune to bed Friday we’d return to work Monday in th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 09
full story
Answers hard to come by for new health care laws
No one at Thursday’s Chamber of Commerce luncheon with Marge Petty, director of the U.S. Health and Human Services Re...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 04
full story
Chamber steps up to bring health answers
How are the new health care laws going to affect businesses in Bee County? That’s the trillion-dollar question, court...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 02
full story
Forget conventional culture: Remember Memorial Day
Memorial Day’s meaning has been so displaced in our pop culture that many seem to take it as simply the unofficial la...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 28
full story
Area grads take next step in life’s journey
Congratulations to the hundreds of high school and college graduates in the Bee County area. Many of them (along with...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 26
full story
Be a roads scholar
There’s a story that we seem to write time and again that we’d just as soon never see. And this is a prime time of th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 21
full story
Schools looking to future
As the Memorial Day weekend approaches, one’s thoughts automatically turn to graduation ceremonies and end-of-school-...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 19
full story
Scary lessons unfolding in Greece and at home
In the last edition, Beeville City Manager Tom Ginter warned City Council members that he is concerned that lower pro...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 07
full story
Tip of Stetson to CBC show
Rodgers & Hammerstein’s “Oklahoma!” blew into town last week like “the wind comes sweepin’ down the plain.” And what ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 05
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« bleedblue wrote on Saturday, Sep 27 at 12:49 AM »
« DougPhillips wrote on Sunday, Sep 21 at 09:04 AM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Sep 20 at 01:41 AM »
« manning120 wrote on Tuesday, Sep 16 at 06:22 PM »