Avoiding school daze
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 27
Most parents can be easily identified by their broad grins as children began the new school year. But for those of us with no children, grown children, or otherwise not paying attention, the school year began Monday. The flashing school zone light...

Latest Editorials

Dance slippers & tool belts; Projects spring forth to bene...
Our community has received some wonderful news in the last few days. First, the Coastal Bend College Foundation learn...
11:47 AM, Friday, March 01
full story
Neither snow nor rain nor heat... except for Saturdays
Many in our office were shaking their heads approvingly in admiration of our dear friend and colleague Mary Henkel Ju...
07:58 PM, Friday, February 22
full story
Knew this area was heating up, but Saudi?
The lead story in Sunday’s business section of the San Antonio Express-News fueled rampant optimism in the economic o...
04:19 PM, Wednesday, February 20
full story
No. 1 priority should be H2O
From Wentz it came... and went. If Beeville residents want to discover what could happen if its city leaders don’t en...
07:01 PM, Friday, February 15
full story
Steer clear of driver fatigue
Many of us have been there, and it’s a precarious place to be. In this week’s Progress, our sister newspaper, the lea...
05:00 PM, Wednesday, February 13
full story
If it’s February, it must be time for some football
Days after the Super Bowl, the head-scratching, 34-minute power outage’s cause remains uncertain. Beyonce’s electrify...
08:36 PM, Thursday, February 07
full story
Help energize our youth
Maybe it’s because it hasn’t been freezing cold, or people’s focus has been on other pressing matters, the Eagle Ford...
02:53 PM, Wednesday, January 30
full story
All should tap the brakes on criticism
Both sides have valid points in the latest Beeville City Council vs. Bee Development Authority confrontation. First, ...
12:43 PM, Tuesday, January 29
full story
Who’s your Scrapdaddy?
Some highly unusual art exhibits have come to the Beeville Art Museum in the past. We can recall artists from all ove...
03:09 PM, Wednesday, January 23
full story
Breaking another barrier
For the first time in its 21 years of existence, the service celebrating the life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. will ...
04:51 PM, Friday, January 18
full story
Sparking a tribute
What better way to honor the memory of the man who made it all possible. Last Friday, members of the A.C. Jones High ...
09:02 AM, Thursday, January 17
full story
Don’t let flu get you
The flu outbreak in 2013 is expected to be among the worst in a decade, warns the Centers for Disease Control and Pre...
04:12 PM, Wednesday, January 09
full story
Have a safe new year
By the time you all are reading this, 2013 has arrived – hopefully without a bang. A reminder for those who still fee...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, January 02
full story
Don’t expect economic recovery in new year
Businesses – particularly small businesses – face much uncertainty going into 2013. While there is always economic un...
04:12 PM, Friday, December 28
full story
Now more than ever, we need love, faith
Why? Five days after the nation’s latest senseless mass school shooting, Americans are still having great difficulty ...
03:56 PM, Wednesday, December 19
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »