Need for speed returns to Chase Field
by Chip Latcham
04:00 PM, Friday, October 24
For those who think the rural lifestyle around here is too slow-paced, we offer a rare alternative. But you had better hurry or you might miss out. If you are wondering why some unusual sports cars and motorcycles have been spotted around town, th...

Latest Editorials

Growing against the odds
Beeville’s sense of timing is, well, unique. It’s a place where the Wednesday Luncheon Club meets on Thursday and the...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 06
full story
Schools take a bow
Positive news has been greeted all around the county with the TEA handing out its latest report cards, better known a...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 04
full story
BDA grant, EIC decision, STCHM party: all good
Positive news was welcomed on several fronts this week for those wishing to see our community grow and prosper. First...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 23
full story
Why punish folks along Gulf Coast twice?
Cautious optimism pervades along the Gulf Coast as experts believe the new cap has stopped the spewing geyser of crud...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 16
full story
Kay lastima! Farewell to una gran maestra
When we learned that Spanish teacher Kay Past is retiring from Coastal Bend College in August, we immediately thought...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 09
full story
More trouble brewing in the gulf?
By now we all should know the drill. On Wednesday morning, the second tropical weather system of the Atlantic season ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 07
full story
Fourth festivities dampened, not doused at Expo Center
Alex may have caused many South Texans’ plans for star-spangled Fourth of July weekend festivities to fizzle. In fact...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 02
full story
Bravery personified: Bee sting response answers age-old qu...
What an inspirational story that appeared in last weekend’s issue. It continues to be one of the most popular on our ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 30
full story
The scarlet letter
So after going to press Wednesday morning, Dennis DeWitt, director of the community affairs department of Bee County,...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 25
full story
Court, Stasny could well be losers in DeWitt case
The Bee County Commissioners Court’s handling of the curious case of Dennis DeWitt is disturbing in so many ways. The...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 23
full story
Juneteenth offers barbecue to gospel
This country is founded in freedom, but that wasn’t always the case for some of our citizens. Saturday we celebrate t...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 18
full story
Bright smiles, kind hands
The calendar says the official start of summer is still a few days away (June 21) but the thermometer confirms the st...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 16
full story
Wasteful development?
Is this really necessary? The Beeville Economic Improvement Corporation (EIC) board apparently is intent on hiring a ...
04:00 PM, Friday, June 11
full story
Suckered: Part & parcel of a hoax
Never in our wildest dreams did we think when putting the Bee-Picayune to bed Friday we’d return to work Monday in th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 09
full story
Answers hard to come by for new health care laws
No one at Thursday’s Chamber of Commerce luncheon with Marge Petty, director of the U.S. Health and Human Services Re...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 04
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« newshound123 wrote on Sunday, Oct 19 at 12:33 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Oct 10 at 05:53 PM »
« Sandys141 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 08 at 10:05 AM »
« Beeville wrote on Friday, Oct 03 at 09:07 PM »