Volunteers a wonderful testimony; justice will not...
by Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, January 30
As disgusting as the massive vandalism to the Glenwood-St. Joseph Cemetery was before Christmas, Saturday’s outpouring of community volunteers provides reassuring testimony to humanity’s decency. Volunteers from as far away as Austin showed up to ...

Latest Editorials

Shooting ahead to fall attractions
Although many people are ecstatic about this weekend’s special events (Fight Night 2 and Diez y Seis), others already...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 12
full story
Them’s fightin’ words
Fiesta goers may have to fight to get through the crowds Saturday night at the Bee County Expo Center. For many of th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 10
full story
Sending strong message
“He is the kind of guy that should have been deported a long time ago.” One can feel the frustration in the voice of ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 05
full story
Blessing and a curse
As Labor Day nears, some people may think of those working in the Eagle Ford Shale, many of whom are not able to enjo...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 29
full story
Avoiding school daze
Most parents can be easily identified by their broad grins as children began the new school year. But for those of us...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 27
full story
Riding a cool wave
File this away under wishful thinking. The Beeville Art Museum presented a free screening of a family-friendly movie ...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 22
full story
Reminder: limit watering
Sadly, it’s getting drier and drier. Bee County remains under a burn ban; underground water tables are dropping; and ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 20
full story
Generosity’s valuable lesson
It’s sunshine and a thousand degrees every day; the football teams and bands are outside sweating on the practice fie...
04:00 PM, Friday, August 15
full story
Be the exception
If only... Those words sometimes stand between a man (or woman) and a rewarding career; Or an honest, drug-free life,...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, August 13
full story
Major hang-up rectified?
Can you hear them now? Many Bee Countians certainly hope so. For several weeks, county offices have been plagued with...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 08
full story
Summerfest-ivities ready to heat up the nights
Bee County Chamber of Commerce officials are cautiously optimistic as they head into the big Summerfest weekend. “Wed...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 06
full story
No kidding around with heat
August, usually the hottest time of the year, has arrived. In addition, Thursday (July 31) officially was declared Na...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 01
full story
Return to border crisis
Another week, another unresolved federal crisis. We read with great interest in this week’s Goliad Advance-Guard abou...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 30
full story
Aiming for large turnout
How ’bout some guns and barbecue? Toss in some horses and that would be what commonly is perceived as an ideal gather...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 25
full story
Problem at our doorstep
Many readers of our sister publication, The Karnes Countywide, were surprised this week to learn that a Karnes County...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 23
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« TexasSA12 wrote on Thursday, Jan 29 at 04:51 PM »
« BeevilleArtMuseum wrote on Monday, Jan 19 at 02:26 PM »
« Kt_pittman wrote on Friday, Jan 16 at 08:55 PM »
« joanTcarla0903 wrote on Friday, Jan 16 at 03:45 PM »