Spiraling out of control
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, January 23
Did you hear the New England Patriots cheated to reach the Super Bowl? Seriously... that’s what the national media is fixated on? ISIS terrorists are marching across the Middle East; citizens in Western nations are being blown up, gunned down and ...

Latest Editorials

Eagle Ford swings a double-edged sword
Once again, we have an unobstructed, close-up view of the pros and cons of residing in the Eagle Ford Shale. In Satur...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, July 09
full story
Timely tribute reminds us of America’s best
Just when you think things couldn’t get much worse... From the unaccompanied illegal immigrant children pouring acros...
04:00 PM, Friday, July 04
full story
Extra reasons for celebrating this Fourth
As most of us are preparing for the July 4th holiday weekend, some recent developments deserve mention. First, Coasta...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, July 02
full story
Most in surge of child border crossers aren’t leaving
Of the more than 24,000 unaccompanied children who entered the United States illegally last year, most haven’t left —...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 27
full story
When are they going to wake up in Washington?
The headlines keep getting more dire and troubling. In Tuesday morning’s Corpus Christi Caller-Times: “Tension rises ...
04:00 PM, Thursday, June 26
full story
Props for Kids College changes
Three cheers for Coastal Bend College. Better make that four cheers, as all four campuses participated by hosting abo...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 20
full story
Noticeable improvement to Spohn Hospital’s ER
Count us among those impressed. A nice turnout of members of the Bee County medical community, Chamber of Commerce an...
07:00 AM, Thursday, June 19
full story
Don’t get skunked
After an unusually cooler, wetter end of spring, the dog days of summer are fast approaching. And this year, in addit...
08:00 PM, Saturday, June 14
full story
Surge of kids crossing border means trouble
What started as a trickle has turned into a steady, troubling flow. Articles in the national and international media ...
12:00 PM, Wednesday, June 11
full story
Long way from D-Day
So, let us get this straight. Our so-called American leaders traded five dangerous Taliban leaders for one apparent U...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 06
full story
Making pitch for progress
Some of us remember watching the Bee County College Cougars, coached by Bob Leach, playing their home baseball games ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 04
full story
Refreshed and clean
Almost every conversation heard around town is centered on the badly needed rains we have received this week. From Pa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 28
full story
Special remembrance
The Memorial Day weekend is upon us, and this year marks a special occurrence as veterans prepare to observe the 70th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 23
full story
A few afterthoughts
Titling last weekend’s editorial “Unfinished business” turned out to be more prophetic than we had originally intende...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 21
full story
Voters spoke Saturday
BEEVILLE – Last Saturday’s election outcomes were emphatically decided by voters wanting change. Only Beeville Mayor ...
04:36 PM, Wednesday, May 14
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« BeevilleArtMuseum wrote on Monday, Jan 19 at 02:26 PM »
« Kt_pittman wrote on Friday, Jan 16 at 08:55 PM »
« joanTcarla0903 wrote on Friday, Jan 16 at 03:45 PM »
« Ak49cat wrote on Thursday, Jan 15 at 02:41 AM »