Reinforcing conservation
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 16
We knew it wouldn’t last. The wetter, cooler May-June has turned back into the customary hot, dry July, and our nearby lake levels are dropping accordingly. Just a week ago, Corpus Christi officials announced that city was implementing stage 2 wat...

Latest Editorials

Much prefer a full lake
What a difference a year makes. Last year as December ended, Lake Corpus Christi was at 15.7 percent of capacity. A y...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 01
full story
Two for the road
Still not in the Christmas spirit? For about the last month we have shared opportunities in this region guaranteed to...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 20
full story
Holly jolly gift to city
For those who ventured out in the chilly weather last Saturday, the 2013 Holly Jolly Christmas celebration in downtow...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 18
full story
Waiting on special delivery
The use of drones has taken flight recently. From killing bad guys in Pakistan to delivering packages for Amazon.com,...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 13
full story
Generosity overflows
Like an oasis in the desert, friends came to the assistance of our beleaguered citizens when the water faucets ran dr...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 11
full story
No place like homes for holidays
With the water crisis easing and as winter roars back into town on the winds of an arctic blast, Beeville area reside...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 06
full story
More than inconvenience
This is getting ridiculous. For the second time in a little more than two weeks, our citizens did not have drinkable ...
04:27 PM, Wednesday, December 04
full story
Beware holiday wrecks, thieves
Many of us can recall stories of holiday festivities turned tragic thanks to traffic accidents. In fact, the Associat...
08:00 AM, Saturday, November 30
full story
There truly is happiness to be found in Thanksgiving
Thanksgiving is our traditional day of thanks, family and celebration of the harvest. It’s turned into a day of feast...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 27
full story
Extra helping of giving
This indeed is a truly generous community. In our last edition, we reported that donations poured in for the Coastal ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 20
full story
Watch out for hamburglars
Crime is on the rise in South Texas, and owners and operators of fast-food restaurants, particularly Dairy Queens, sh...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 13
full story
Fifty years later, remembering JFK
Almost everyone who was alive at the time remembers the calamitous events of Nov. 22, 1963. Although only a third-gra...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 06
full story
25 years of stories: Tales of haunted, embellished, Southwest
Remember all those fun times when you were a child attending camp and the group leader told creepy ghost stories? Or ...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 01
full story
Take the ride of your life, part II
From last weekend’s eight-second ride atop an agitated bull to this weekend’s one-mile burst at 200 mph plus, Bee Cou...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 25
full story
Vote yes for Prop. 6
Early voting opened Monday in the Texas constitutional amendments election, which will take place Tuesday, Nov. 5. Th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 23
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« mlwkelley wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 07:52 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 06:59 PM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Saturday, Jul 19 at 09:13 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Jul 19 at 05:07 PM »