It’s deadly out there
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 01
Not surprising, but it’s getting more dangerous on our roads and highways. Bee County has been rated “safe” on a scale of danger rating for motorists. However, our residents are surrounded by counties ranked “dangerous” and “most dangerous” for de...

Latest Editorials

Obama driving gas prices up
In 2008, then-Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) “blasted” President George W. Bush for rising gas prices on his (and her) w...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 31
full story
New York state of mind is pretty bleak
Count your lucky stars you don’t live in New York City or the Northeast right now. According to The New York Times, t...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 29
full story
Christmas joy, wonder
As Christmas Day nears, Bee Countians seemingly have many enticing presents waiting under their trees. The Sikorsky w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 22
full story
The British are coming and that’s not a bad thing
The fruits of economic growth are often interesting and unexpected. Such is the proposed development of a British pub...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 17
full story
Serving up another reminder
If you are still not in the Christmas spirit, despite the recent cold mornings and many events already described, fro...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 15
full story
Two more holiday hints
A couple of additional opportunities present themselves for those still trying to get in the Christmas spirit. First,...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 10
full story
Good move for economy
It seems that President Obama cannot win. Fresh on the heels of the general election “shellacking,” he now is getting...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 08
full story
Christmas spirit to blast into city
The Christmas season begins in earnest this weekend. In Beeville, Winter Fest will blow into town and stir up excitem...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 03
full story
Embracing a ten-year window of opportunity
More glad tidings have been received that this community is preparing to experience some really good times, beyond th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 01
full story
A uniquely American tradition
Another Thanksgiving is upon us already as 2010 speeds past like an unstoppable train. As we reflect on our many bles...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 24
full story
More positive developments regarding Chase warehouse
Millions of dollars and hundreds of new residents will be the result. The 75 citizens who attended Thursday’s Chamber...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 19
full story
Lacking a longtime landmark
Many old-timers here well remember the excitement when the family would decide it was time to purchase new furniture ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 17
full story
Chase warehouse will add some 200 jobs, $9.5 million annua...
Never has a good news story in Beeville been so misunderstood, even by those who ought to know better. In about three...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 12
full story
Success of Veterans Wall helps recall our great debt
Thankfully, the elections are behind us and now it’s only fitting that we pay tribute to the ones who have allowed us...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 10
full story
Parting shots at election that was
It’s long been said that editorial writers watch the battle from afar and once over, ride down to shoot the wounded. ...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 05
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DubiousForever wrote on Wednesday, Apr 01 at 04:17 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, Mar 31 at 06:44 PM »
« doucare wrote on Sunday, Mar 29 at 07:18 PM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Saturday, Mar 28 at 06:12 PM »