Lozano, Garza, Silva, Haggard, Prop. 1 endorsed
by Chip Latcham and Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Thursday, October 23
Continuing our endorsements from the last issue in contested area and local races on the Nov. 4 general election ballot, we offer these recommendations: For State Representative, District 43, J.M. Lozano (Rep) should be returned to the Legislature...

Latest Editorials

Forget conventional culture: Remember Memorial Day
Memorial Day’s meaning has been so displaced in our pop culture that many seem to take it as simply the unofficial la...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 28
full story
Area grads take next step in life’s journey
Congratulations to the hundreds of high school and college graduates in the Bee County area. Many of them (along with...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 26
full story
Be a roads scholar
There’s a story that we seem to write time and again that we’d just as soon never see. And this is a prime time of th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 21
full story
Schools looking to future
As the Memorial Day weekend approaches, one’s thoughts automatically turn to graduation ceremonies and end-of-school-...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 19
full story
Scary lessons unfolding in Greece and at home
In the last edition, Beeville City Manager Tom Ginter warned City Council members that he is concerned that lower pro...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 07
full story
Tip of Stetson to CBC show
Rodgers & Hammerstein’s “Oklahoma!” blew into town last week like “the wind comes sweepin’ down the plain.” And what ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 05
full story
Weigh charges before burning DeWitt at stake
Accusing a white political candidate of racism these days is tantamount to accusing elderly women in Salem, Mass., in...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 30
full story
Arnold best suited for college board
Early voting started Monday in area municipal and school district elections scheduled May 8. It will continue until M...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 28
full story
BCAA board sends resolution to court
(Bee-Picayune April 22 & 25, 1985) The Community Action Board, or board of directors of the Bee Community Action Agen...
04:00 PM, Friday, April 23
full story
Local economy better than most
“No man is an island, entire of itself...” – John Donne Nor is any community or state when speaking of the economy th...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 16
full story
Moving forward in Precinct 2
The winds of political change continue to sweep across the nation. In Bee County, newcomer Dennis DeWitt defeated fiv...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, April 14
full story
Taxpayers get relief; voting on
County taxpayers breathed a sigh of relief when they learned the BISD trustees have dropped their lawsuit against Bee...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 07
full story
Montez, Alaniz family, soccer girls deserve praise
The spring weather has been wonderful and the wildflowers gorgeous – simply a perfect Chamber of Commerce setting as ...
03:08 PM, Wednesday, March 31
full story
Washington’s Rx: Take 2 pills and go away
The public be damned. Despite national opinion polls showing the American people did not want Obamacare by about a 20...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 24
full story
Phone scam can be easily thwarted
It is unfortunate that we live in such a time of scams. They seem to be everywhere we turn these days. We learned of ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 19
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« newshound123 wrote on Sunday, Oct 19 at 12:33 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Oct 10 at 05:53 PM »
« Sandys141 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 08 at 10:05 AM »
« Beeville wrote on Friday, Oct 03 at 09:07 PM »