Serving hot meal for Christ
03:00 PM, Friday, December 19
Many area residents already have attended Christmas parties, open houses and concerts. (The live performance by Christian band Building 429 Wednesday night at New Life Church was an amazing gift to the community!) Others have contributed to charit...

Latest Editorials

Kay lastima! Farewell to una gran maestra
When we learned that Spanish teacher Kay Past is retiring from Coastal Bend College in August, we immediately thought...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 09
full story
More trouble brewing in the gulf?
By now we all should know the drill. On Wednesday morning, the second tropical weather system of the Atlantic season ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 07
full story
Fourth festivities dampened, not doused at Expo Center
Alex may have caused many South Texans’ plans for star-spangled Fourth of July weekend festivities to fizzle. In fact...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 02
full story
Bravery personified: Bee sting response answers age-old qu...
What an inspirational story that appeared in last weekend’s issue. It continues to be one of the most popular on our ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 30
full story
The scarlet letter
So after going to press Wednesday morning, Dennis DeWitt, director of the community affairs department of Bee County,...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 25
full story
Court, Stasny could well be losers in DeWitt case
The Bee County Commissioners Court’s handling of the curious case of Dennis DeWitt is disturbing in so many ways. The...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 23
full story
Juneteenth offers barbecue to gospel
This country is founded in freedom, but that wasn’t always the case for some of our citizens. Saturday we celebrate t...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 18
full story
Bright smiles, kind hands
The calendar says the official start of summer is still a few days away (June 21) but the thermometer confirms the st...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 16
full story
Wasteful development?
Is this really necessary? The Beeville Economic Improvement Corporation (EIC) board apparently is intent on hiring a ...
04:00 PM, Friday, June 11
full story
Suckered: Part & parcel of a hoax
Never in our wildest dreams did we think when putting the Bee-Picayune to bed Friday we’d return to work Monday in th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 09
full story
Answers hard to come by for new health care laws
No one at Thursday’s Chamber of Commerce luncheon with Marge Petty, director of the U.S. Health and Human Services Re...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 04
full story
Chamber steps up to bring health answers
How are the new health care laws going to affect businesses in Bee County? That’s the trillion-dollar question, court...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 02
full story
Forget conventional culture: Remember Memorial Day
Memorial Day’s meaning has been so displaced in our pop culture that many seem to take it as simply the unofficial la...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 28
full story
Area grads take next step in life’s journey
Congratulations to the hundreds of high school and college graduates in the Bee County area. Many of them (along with...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 26
full story
Be a roads scholar
There’s a story that we seem to write time and again that we’d just as soon never see. And this is a prime time of th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 21
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« jimmiejones wrote on Saturday, Dec 20 at 10:53 PM »
« letii wrote on Wednesday, Dec 17 at 11:52 AM »
« DeeFerris wrote on Thursday, Dec 11 at 06:21 PM »
« joergarciajr wrote on Tuesday, Dec 09 at 07:16 PM »