Protect public’s right to know
by Chip Latcham and Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, February 27
Another legislative session in Austin, another attack on the dissemination of public information. Yes, already at least six bills have been filed by Texas House and Senate members that, in essence, would hide or make it more difficult to find out ...

Latest Editorials

BEIC delivers home run with warehouse vote
A genuine example of economic stimulus cleared a major hurdle late last week. Members of the Beeville Economic Improv...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, January 19
full story
Banks, BDA turn lemons into lemonade
It’s no secret that one of the shortfalls of the laws under which the Bee Development Authority was created is the la...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 14
full story
Celebrate the arts Saturday
Has it really been a decade already? On Saturday, the Beeville Art Museum is celebrating its 10th anniversary, hostin...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 12
full story
Obamacare repeal doesn’t increase deficit
When now-House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D–CA) was sworn in as speaker on Jan. 4, 2007, the national debt stood a...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 07
full story
Dangerously dry
The new year has arrived, and thanks to La Niña, it appears to be starting as a dry one for South Texas. Bee County w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 05
full story
Obama driving gas prices up
In 2008, then-Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) “blasted” President George W. Bush for rising gas prices on his (and her) w...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 31
full story
New York state of mind is pretty bleak
Count your lucky stars you don’t live in New York City or the Northeast right now. According to The New York Times, t...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 29
full story
Christmas joy, wonder
As Christmas Day nears, Bee Countians seemingly have many enticing presents waiting under their trees. The Sikorsky w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 22
full story
The British are coming and that’s not a bad thing
The fruits of economic growth are often interesting and unexpected. Such is the proposed development of a British pub...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 17
full story
Serving up another reminder
If you are still not in the Christmas spirit, despite the recent cold mornings and many events already described, fro...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 15
full story
Two more holiday hints
A couple of additional opportunities present themselves for those still trying to get in the Christmas spirit. First,...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 10
full story
Good move for economy
It seems that President Obama cannot win. Fresh on the heels of the general election “shellacking,” he now is getting...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 08
full story
Christmas spirit to blast into city
The Christmas season begins in earnest this weekend. In Beeville, Winter Fest will blow into town and stir up excitem...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 03
full story
Embracing a ten-year window of opportunity
More glad tidings have been received that this community is preparing to experience some really good times, beyond th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 01
full story
A uniquely American tradition
Another Thanksgiving is upon us already as 2010 speeds past like an unstoppable train. As we reflect on our many bles...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 24
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« April3rd wrote on Wednesday, Mar 04 at 10:41 AM »
« tfer77 wrote on Monday, Mar 02 at 08:25 PM »
« ashleynp wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 04:40 PM »
« davidspandau wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 11:14 AM »