Remember those who paid the price
by Rachel Kibbe Williams
08:00 AM, Sunday, May 29
The following editor’s column appeared in this week’s edition of our sister publication, The Progress, serving Live Oak and McMullen counties. With Memorial Day coming up, there are many thoughts that come to my mind about the importance of such a...

Latest Editorials

We don’t need a garden-variety war
No one wants to witness this battle. As related in Friday’s edition, there will be no winner in this heated war of wo...
12:00 PM, Friday, April 08
full story
Water decision critical to city, shouldn’t get muddied
It’s funny how the most basic of essentials – water – used for everything from drinking, bathing, washing and even ba...
08:00 AM, Tuesday, April 05
full story
Don’t be April fooled
Beware the Ides of March, or even April it would appear. No matter the season, whether Easter, another glorious obser...
08:14 AM, Friday, April 01
full story
The Good News of Easter
Early Sunday morning, while it was still dark, Mary Magdalene came to the tomb and found that the stone had been roll...
06:00 AM, Sunday, March 27
full story
Would you like some salt with your news?
Longtime A.C. Jones High School English and journalism teacher Jean Dugat made it a point to teach her students to be...
05:04 PM, Monday, March 21
full story
About to get loud, proud
The signs of spring are everywhere. Birds are singing in the early morning, wildflowers are popping up in the country...
03:03 PM, Thursday, March 17
full story
Heed spring break warnings
Daylight-saving time began Sunday and, although not advocates of moving around the internal clock, we look forward to...
12:00 PM, Tuesday, March 15
full story
Continuity honors Carlos
Bee County commissioners appear to be in no hurry to appoint a successor to our late sheriff, and that’s as it should...
07:59 AM, Monday, March 14
full story
Congrats to winners, in election & on court
While this community still is mourning the loss of our beloved sheriff, Carlos Carrizales, we offer some thoughts fol...
09:02 AM, Friday, March 04
full story
Carrizales dared to dream
Let’s dispense with the “editorial we” today because this is personal and I want to tell you about my friend, Sheriff...
09:53 AM, Wednesday, March 02
full story
Super Tuesday is your chance to speak out
Now Texans get their turn to influence the national discussion as Super Tuesday nears, and we’re the next big delegat...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 26
full story
BISD should expand search for new chief
Six months ago in this space, we wondered if the Beeville Independent School District trustees were doing their due d...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 19
full story
Cruz, Gonzales, Silvas worthy of primary endorsements
Early voting opened Tuesday in the Texas Democratic and Republican primary elections, scheduled for March 1. After re...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 17
full story
What’s old is new again?
As Sanders, Trump, Hillary, Cruz and the rest of the presidential candidates shift their operations from New Hampshir...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 12
full story
This is not a reality show
If you’re not entertained by this year’s presidential primaries, then you likely are disgusted. Such is the split of ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 10
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« karonloc6 wrote on Thursday, May 26 at 12:50 PM »
« Audreyraes wrote on Saturday, May 21 at 09:31 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, May 20 at 07:35 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, May 18 at 12:57 PM »