Going about this all wrong
by Chip Latcham
03:09 PM, Wednesday, November 19
The lead story by Joe Baker in this week’s Karnes Countywide certainly grabbed our readers’ attention areawide. Headlined “Border insecurity,” it dealt with a recent public forum held in Floresville at which experts discussed the controversial top...

Latest Editorials

Political season, policies and garage sales: there’s a reason
Sometimes newspaper policies make news and sometimes the news is in the ads. Sound complicated? It’s not, but we’ll t...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 27
full story
Eagle Ford could be godsend for county
If readers were out of the county and missed Wednesday’s edition, our front-page banner story proclaimed that Beevill...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 22
full story
Extremely capable candidates running in area, county races
In area and county contested races in the Nov. 2 general election, Bee Countians have a few tough choices to make. Fo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 20
full story
Voters urged to cross over for best candidates
Early voting in the Nov. 2 general election begins Monday, Oct. 18, and continues until Oct. 29 at the courthouse. We...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 15
full story
Taking back neighborhoods
In San Antonio, Corpus Christi and all across the U.S., thousands of citizens turned out Tuesday evening, joining tog...
03:20 PM, Friday, October 08
full story
Polls indicate no traditional ‘gimmes’
With Election Day now under four weeks away and closing quickly, there’s certainly no avoiding it whether watching te...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 06
full story
Monday’s last chance to register to vote
A political tsunami appears to be building across America. In the New York Times Thursday, headlines blare: “Democrat...
04:00 PM, Friday, October 01
full story
Vets deserving of stadium monument
If a tribute was ever well deserved, not to mention five years overdue, it’s to the military veterans of this communi...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 24
full story
News flash: Evil wins
Intimidated into submission, the leading newspaper in Juarez raised the white flag. Sunday was a truly sad day for jo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 22
full story
Protect yourself online
You too may be a publisher and not even realize it. And that could be a problem. In our new mega-connected world of T...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 17
full story
Like spraying your garden with herbicide and then wonderin...
The Washington Post carried a story last week with the headline: “Small businesses feel squeezed by Obama policies.” ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 15
full story
Respect both observances
Bee Countians have a rare opportunity this weekend to observe both the ninth anniversary of 9-11 and the Diez y Seis ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 10
full story
Apparently weather doesn’t take a holiday
What a strange start to this short week in what has been a strange weather year. At the conclusion of the Labor Day w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 08
full story
Feeling taxpayers’ pain
Unlike elected officials in other parts of the country, such as California and Washington, D.C., it appears as though...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 03
full story
EPA slams on the brakes
Rarely does an issue stemming from Washington, D.C., resolve itself in a matter of days but that happened last week. ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 01
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« fishintxs1 wrote on Tuesday, Nov 25 at 01:30 PM »
« mikea73 wrote on Saturday, Nov 22 at 03:14 PM »
« jen.c.oneill@gmail.com wrote on Thursday, Nov 20 at 01:07 PM »
« medic860 wrote on Monday, Nov 17 at 05:45 AM »