Reminder: limit watering
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 20
Sadly, it’s getting drier and drier. Bee County remains under a burn ban; underground water tables are dropping; and even a few live oak trees are dying from years of drought. It’s not just here. In our other papers this week, the City of Goliad h...

Latest Editorials

Adjusting to prison release change
Both Police Chief Joe Treviño and Sheriff Carlos Carrizales have confirmed that they have been notified that the Texa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 17
full story
Tough decisions while wondering where’s bottom
Sustainability. It’s long been a catchword in national and global ecological discussions. It now needs to become a mo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 10
full story
Who needs jobs when you’ve got government health care?
It seems as though the Obama administration is tone-deaf. The nation, which is suffering through an extended recessio...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 05
full story
Stasny-DeWitt runoff extends primary season one more month
As various media sources last night noted, it’s down to Perry vs. White for the Texas governor’s race in November. No...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, March 03
full story
Hear, hear for hospitals, highways and voters at the polls
Several Bee Countians deserve our praise following developments revealed this week. First, Jerry Rodriguez, Christus ...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 26
full story
Score one for the voters, chamber
It’s not the Olympics with a panel of judges recording decimal-pointed scores, but there were most certainly winners ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 24
full story
Know the candidates, cast an informed ballot
Are you planning to vote for Bill White or Farouk Shami, Kay Bailey Hutchison, Debra Medina or Rick Perry for Texas g...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 17
full story
Moving into modern era of border law enforcement
In what might appear to be a scene right out of one of those reality TV shows involving law enforcement chases, Bee C...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 12
full story
San Patricio demonstrates what cooperation can do
Regular readers are no doubt familiar with this newspaper’s position on economic development in Bee County. Simply pu...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 05
full story
Salute junior show entrants
Despite the cold and rainy weather, the Bee County Expo Center is a flurry of activity. Many youths’ livestock and ho...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 03
full story
Big step for STCHM
Last Saturday’s open house of the newly renovated Patterson Student Center on the Boothe Campus of the South Texas Ch...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 27
full story
Will Massachusetts revolt carry on in South Texas?
Our own Congressman Rubén Hinojosa should be one of the Washington, D.C., big government Democrats deeply concerned b...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 22
full story
Massachusetts stunner; President Obama certainly no MLK
Again we commend the organizers and community leaders for their participation in Beeville’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 20
full story
Hearts go out to people of Haiti
Once again the world can only watch and wonder following a massive natural disaster – Tuesday’s tragic earthquake in ...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 15
full story
BISD moving forward
Tuesday’s meeting of the Beeville Independent School District board of trustees demonstrated progress in the ongoing ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 13
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 16 at 01:46 AM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 16 at 01:34 AM »