Protect public’s right to know
by Chip Latcham and Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, February 27
Another legislative session in Austin, another attack on the dissemination of public information. Yes, already at least six bills have been filed by Texas House and Senate members that, in essence, would hide or make it more difficult to find out ...

Latest Editorials

News flash: Evil wins
Intimidated into submission, the leading newspaper in Juarez raised the white flag. Sunday was a truly sad day for jo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 22
full story
Protect yourself online
You too may be a publisher and not even realize it. And that could be a problem. In our new mega-connected world of T...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 17
full story
Like spraying your garden with herbicide and then wonderin...
The Washington Post carried a story last week with the headline: “Small businesses feel squeezed by Obama policies.” ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 15
full story
Respect both observances
Bee Countians have a rare opportunity this weekend to observe both the ninth anniversary of 9-11 and the Diez y Seis ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 10
full story
Apparently weather doesn’t take a holiday
What a strange start to this short week in what has been a strange weather year. At the conclusion of the Labor Day w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 08
full story
Feeling taxpayers’ pain
Unlike elected officials in other parts of the country, such as California and Washington, D.C., it appears as though...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 03
full story
EPA slams on the brakes
Rarely does an issue stemming from Washington, D.C., resolve itself in a matter of days but that happened last week. ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 01
full story
EPA has Texans in its sights
If Texans don’t know it yet, they’ll figure out pretty quickly that the Obama administration has taken direct aim at ...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 27
full story
Use sense around campus
Just a gentle reminder to area motorists that schools are back in session. Please slow down and be careful to watch f...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 25
full story
Living with uranium
Uranium exploration in South Texas is nothing new with open pit mining starting up some half a century ago. The eleme...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 20
full story
Shop friendly, locally
While many South Texans are surviving the late summer heat and wishing for the first cold front’s arrival, some are p...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 18
full story
Count our blessings
What a difference a year makes. We’ve heard that expression hundreds of times this year and verbalized it countless t...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 13
full story
Growing against the odds
Beeville’s sense of timing is, well, unique. It’s a place where the Wednesday Luncheon Club meets on Thursday and the...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 06
full story
Schools take a bow
Positive news has been greeted all around the county with the TEA handing out its latest report cards, better known a...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 04
full story
BDA grant, EIC decision, STCHM party: all good
Positive news was welcomed on several fronts this week for those wishing to see our community grow and prosper. First...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 23
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« ashleynp wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 04:40 PM »
« davidspandau wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 11:14 AM »
« Perezuaw wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 10:51 AM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Thursday, Feb 26 at 09:59 PM »