EFS boom showing no signs of slowing down
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, September 26
“How long is it going to last?” That’s the $64 billion question – adjusted to Eagle Ford Shale values. Many of us who reside amidst this productive oil and gas play in South Texas get asked that fairly often. Truthfully, we have no idea. However, ...

Latest Editorials

Weigh charges before burning DeWitt at stake
Accusing a white political candidate of racism these days is tantamount to accusing elderly women in Salem, Mass., in...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 30
full story
Arnold best suited for college board
Early voting started Monday in area municipal and school district elections scheduled May 8. It will continue until M...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 28
full story
BCAA board sends resolution to court
(Bee-Picayune April 22 & 25, 1985) The Community Action Board, or board of directors of the Bee Community Action Agen...
04:00 PM, Friday, April 23
full story
Local economy better than most
“No man is an island, entire of itself...” – John Donne Nor is any community or state when speaking of the economy th...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 16
full story
Moving forward in Precinct 2
The winds of political change continue to sweep across the nation. In Bee County, newcomer Dennis DeWitt defeated fiv...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, April 14
full story
Taxpayers get relief; voting on
County taxpayers breathed a sigh of relief when they learned the BISD trustees have dropped their lawsuit against Bee...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 07
full story
Montez, Alaniz family, soccer girls deserve praise
The spring weather has been wonderful and the wildflowers gorgeous – simply a perfect Chamber of Commerce setting as ...
03:08 PM, Wednesday, March 31
full story
Washington’s Rx: Take 2 pills and go away
The public be damned. Despite national opinion polls showing the American people did not want Obamacare by about a 20...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 24
full story
Phone scam can be easily thwarted
It is unfortunate that we live in such a time of scams. They seem to be everywhere we turn these days. We learned of ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 19
full story
Adjusting to prison release change
Both Police Chief Joe Treviño and Sheriff Carlos Carrizales have confirmed that they have been notified that the Texa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 17
full story
Tough decisions while wondering where’s bottom
Sustainability. It’s long been a catchword in national and global ecological discussions. It now needs to become a mo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 10
full story
Who needs jobs when you’ve got government health care?
It seems as though the Obama administration is tone-deaf. The nation, which is suffering through an extended recessio...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 05
full story
Stasny-DeWitt runoff extends primary season one more month
As various media sources last night noted, it’s down to Perry vs. White for the Texas governor’s race in November. No...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, March 03
full story
Hear, hear for hospitals, highways and voters at the polls
Several Bee Countians deserve our praise following developments revealed this week. First, Jerry Rodriguez, Christus ...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 26
full story
Score one for the voters, chamber
It’s not the Olympics with a panel of judges recording decimal-pointed scores, but there were most certainly winners ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 24
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« bleedblue wrote on Saturday, Sep 27 at 12:49 AM »
« DougPhillips wrote on Sunday, Sep 21 at 09:04 AM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Sep 20 at 01:41 AM »
« manning120 wrote on Tuesday, Sep 16 at 06:22 PM »