Friendly Night Out nears with our first responders
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Monday, October 05
October has arrived with its crisp autumn mornings and promise of upcoming holiday celebrations. Pumpkins already are arriving in stores and front lawns, including the First United Methodist Church’s annual pumpkin patch which sets up on Sunday af...

Latest Editorials

Prices could be going up
It never fails. As soon as last weekend’s edition of our newspaper started rolling off the press, featuring the front...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 11
full story
Keepin’ cowboy tradition alive
For more than 50 years, the South Texas Trail Riders have braved cold, sleet and howling north winds as they have dri...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 06
full story
In a dangerous spot
For anxious parents wanting to connect the dots, at least two local health professionals are joining national officia...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 04
full story
Volunteers a wonderful testimony; justice will not rest
As disgusting as the massive vandalism to the Glenwood-St. Joseph Cemetery was before Christmas, Saturday’s outpourin...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 30
full story
Win, place, show
The youths of Bee County, along with their animals, crafts and food entries, again are taking center stage at the Exp...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 28
full story
Spiraling out of control
Did you hear the New England Patriots cheated to reach the Super Bowl? Seriously... that’s what the national media is...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 23
full story
Innovators and educators
Fifty years ago, Bee County Chamber of Commerce leaders were bringing state education officials to Beeville in order ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 21
full story
Good reason to observe MLK Day
After such a turbulent year for race relations across the nation, the need for simple communication has never been st...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 16
full story
Better tighten those belts
Boom and bust. Those working in the oil and gas industry and receiving royalty checks have seen this cycle play out t...
03:00 AM, Wednesday, January 14
full story
Great will be their reward
This community owes an enormous debt of gratitude to Garrett Tindol and Tindol Construction Company. He and his emplo...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 09
full story
Vandalism of cemeteries cannot go unresolved
Last week’s destruction of nearly 100 tombstones and monuments in the Glenwood and St. Joseph’s cemeteries cannot be ...
03:00 PM, Monday, January 05
full story
As a society, we’ve got some improving to do in 2015
Thursday marks the start of the new year, 2015. Old man 2014 was an eventful year for many of our readers; for others...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 31
full story
Protesters way off base
Enough. The New York Post reported that more than 1,000 anti-police protesters defied Mayor Bill de Blasio and floode...
04:00 PM, Friday, December 26
full story
Serving hot meal for Christ
Many area residents already have attended Christmas parties, open houses and concerts. (The live performance by Chris...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 19
full story
Experience joy of giving
As the final countdown to Christmas begins, it does our hearts good to know that more community members, particularly...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 17
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« AvidShooter wrote on Saturday, Oct 10 at 08:21 AM »
« LarryB944 wrote on Thursday, Oct 08 at 10:11 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, Oct 07 at 11:46 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, Oct 06 at 09:29 PM »