Avoiding school daze
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 27
Most parents can be easily identified by their broad grins as children began the new school year. But for those of us with no children, grown children, or otherwise not paying attention, the school year began Monday. The flashing school zone light...

Latest Editorials

Bond election: Stuck in neutral
We’ve been advocates in this space for several years now for the city to address its pending water shortfall. So it i...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 08
full story
Heed high water warnings
When heavy rains fell on Beeville Monday, firefighters responded to several calls involving high water rescues. Fortu...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 03
full story
Water, water everywhere...
Two headlines in Tuesday’s Corpus Christi Caller-Times certainly were attention grabbers. One declared “Coastal Bend ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 01
full story
Of water and clarity
Count us still in the undecided column when tallying those for or against the proposed city water bond issue on the M...
07:14 PM, Friday, April 26
full story
Talk is cheap. So why haven’t we had some?
Yes, we know it’s a recurring theme on these editorial pages, but political turf wars – particularly at the local lev...
05:00 PM, Friday, April 19
full story
Deny terrorists victory
Thankfully no Bee Countians (that we know of) were near the finish line at the Boston Marathon on Monday afternoon. T...
02:23 PM, Thursday, April 18
full story
City residents shouldn’t miss these opportunities
Two dates of significance for Beeville residents are fast approaching. Next Tuesday, April 16, the City Council will ...
05:00 PM, Friday, April 12
full story
Sadly, it happened again
In a tragic story that is being repeated entirely too frequently, a head-on collision claimed the lives of two people...
05:00 PM, Wednesday, April 10
full story
Appreciate historical perspective
Bee Countians certainly should admire their moxie. Few of us take the time in this fast-paced society to recognize, o...
03:07 PM, Friday, April 05
full story
Hearing clarifies some points, leaves others suspended
The City of Beeville’s town hall meeting Thursday evening provided some answers to the feasibility of a proposed $15 ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 03
full story
Beauty of springtime
How fortunate to be living in South Texas as spring begins and with Easter hopping upon us early this year. Although ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 27
full story
An expensive gamble
After reading recent position statements from the city manager, water supply district board president and Bee Develop...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 22
full story
Feeling the need for speed
Better hang onto your hats – whether ball caps, Stetsons or Easter bonnets. The Texas Mile is charging back into our ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 20
full story
Fun and games must stop
Thursday’s banner headline in the Corpus Christi Caller-Times announced “Sequester cuts Navy air show,” which probabl...
07:00 PM, Friday, March 08
full story
Of trust and water
Two major stories in our weekend edition should have raised some eyebrows. Three local residents were named among 32 ...
01:41 PM, Thursday, March 07
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »