Experience joy of giving
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 17
As the final countdown to Christmas begins, it does our hearts good to know that more community members, particularly young people, have discovered the true meaning of gift giving. In last weekend’s issue, we reported that Sunshine Cortez, age 8, ...

Latest Editorials

Habitat improving, inspiring youngster
Although the world situation appears bleak, with our nation’s leaders moving inexorably closer to entering the civil ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 06
full story
Many changes to Texas laws
As of Sept. 1, several new laws have gone into effect in Texas, and drivers and citizens better learn them fast or fa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 04
full story
Invest in your children
The teachers are already back in school and next week (starting Monday) the students will return to their respective ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 21
full story
Three unique events appeal to varied tastes
While waiting for the football season kickoff and the return of cooler weather, a trio of upcoming special events has...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 16
full story
Crime wave heating up
In these dog days of summer, one would think that even criminals would slow down and seek some shade. Yet, in recent ...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, August 14
full story
Coyotes taking advantage
Why are so many illegal immigrants being arrested in this area recently? Is it because of the promised passage of the...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 09
full story
Alternative to summer blahs
It’s early August, with heat advisories and 100-plus-degree temperatures every blessed day. Regardless, football team...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 07
full story
Tough stretch ahead for tropics; get connected now
Now it’s time to get serious. Yes, hurricane season has been under way for almost two months now, but the peak threat...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 26
full story
Driving our economy
Most stories we have read recently continue to remain positive about the Eagle Ford Shale and its impact on this regi...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 24
full story
Seen as a train wreck comin’ from all sides
Politics makes strange bedfellows – and when the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and labor unions agree, our country surely ...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 19
full story
Changes to clinics, ER should benefit everyone
Christus Spohn officials offered some news for Bee Countians this week. “Christus Spohn Hospital Beeville is here to ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 17
full story
Cannons and fireballs
Gettysburg, Pa., has been and continues to be the boisterous and poignant scene of living history events marking the ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 03
full story
Supreme Court ruling will help clean up voter fraud
The U.S. Supreme Court’s decision yesterday on the constitutionality of the Voting Rights Act will no doubt bring cri...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 26
full story
It’s too darn hot
Several things to remember as the summertime heat ensnares South Texans in its unrelenting grasp. As the special weat...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 21
full story
So glad to be out of school
Summer officially begins on Friday, and heat indices are already exceeding 105 degrees. Yet, some Texas school offici...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 19
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« letii wrote on Wednesday, Dec 17 at 11:52 AM »
« DeeFerris wrote on Thursday, Dec 11 at 06:21 PM »
« joergarciajr wrote on Tuesday, Dec 09 at 07:16 PM »
« grandof21 wrote on Sunday, Dec 07 at 03:16 AM »