Friendly Night Out nears with our first responders
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Monday, October 05
October has arrived with its crisp autumn mornings and promise of upcoming holiday celebrations. Pumpkins already are arriving in stores and front lawns, including the First United Methodist Church’s annual pumpkin patch which sets up on Sunday af...

Latest Editorials

Fun under the lights returns
The dog days of summer have arrived; August is quickly approaching. That means that Texas football fans are counting ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 22
full story
Disturbing role of those in authority positions
Serious allegations against a teacher in the George West school district have been brought to the attention of the sc...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 17
full story
Paths part for time being with Brother Dunn
Let us now praise famous men. James Dunn, 83, died July 4, and considering his love for this country, it was an appro...
08:00 AM, Tuesday, July 14
full story
No offense but history cannot be eradicated
We live in a complicated age. The world’s stock markets collapse as Greece degenerates into chaos and riots while ref...
04:00 PM, Monday, July 13
full story
Silvas flashes wisdom, grit
When appointed to fill the position of county judge following David Silva’s death, some wondered about the wisdom and...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 10
full story
Oh, say did you see?
Everyone in attendance at Coastal Bend College’s big Baseball Birthday Bash on the Fourth of July came away impressed...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 08
full story
Attorney generals gone wild
While we’re all in favor of protecting freedom of religion, we can’t help but wince at Texas Attorney General Ken Pax...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 03
full story
Marriage equality could trample religious rights
I am a Democrat and I am not ashamed to say that. I voted for Barack Obama and I am not ashamed to say that. I believ...
04:00 PM, Thursday, July 02
full story
Leaving no stone unturned
We want to add ours to the many voices in the community in thanking Beck Brothers, their crew and heavy equipment for...
03:00 PM, Thursday, July 02
full story
Fix slow drip on resolving water woes
Articles on last Friday’s front page gave us several items to ponder. In the lead story about still no decision being...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 01
full story
Fireworks, helicopters to take flight here soon
The final countdown has begun. Just a week remains until the spectacular Independence Day celebration hosted this yea...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 26
full story
Unified approach needed to combat racial hatred
The senseless shooting deaths of nine people in a Charleston church last week remains the major topic of conversation...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 24
full story
Summer onslaught returns
Apparently it is firing back up again. In this week’s Goliad Advance-Guard, we reported that four illegal immigrants ...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 19
full story
Just slight blow this time
As we at Beeville Publishing Company prepared to go to press Tuesday afternoon, all eyes were on the Texas Gulf Coast...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, June 17
full story
Looking ahead with relish to Fourth festivities changeup
Flag Day is Sunday and Father’s Day’s next weekend, but many community members already are anticipating the Fourth of...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 12
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« drac wrote on Wednesday, Sep 30 at 06:14 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, Sep 30 at 01:57 PM »
« jessrod wrote on Tuesday, Sep 29 at 07:28 PM »
« Rachel1975 wrote on Monday, Sep 28 at 08:00 PM »