Shooting ahead to fall attractions
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, September 12
Although many people are ecstatic about this weekend’s special events (Fight Night 2 and Diez y Seis), others already are eagerly looking forward to next weekend. Of course, hunters from near and far will flock to town in great numbers for the Sou...

Latest Editorials

EPA has Texans in its sights
If Texans don’t know it yet, they’ll figure out pretty quickly that the Obama administration has taken direct aim at ...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 27
full story
Use sense around campus
Just a gentle reminder to area motorists that schools are back in session. Please slow down and be careful to watch f...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 25
full story
Living with uranium
Uranium exploration in South Texas is nothing new with open pit mining starting up some half a century ago. The eleme...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 20
full story
Shop friendly, locally
While many South Texans are surviving the late summer heat and wishing for the first cold front’s arrival, some are p...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 18
full story
Count our blessings
What a difference a year makes. We’ve heard that expression hundreds of times this year and verbalized it countless t...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 13
full story
Growing against the odds
Beeville’s sense of timing is, well, unique. It’s a place where the Wednesday Luncheon Club meets on Thursday and the...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 06
full story
Schools take a bow
Positive news has been greeted all around the county with the TEA handing out its latest report cards, better known a...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 04
full story
BDA grant, EIC decision, STCHM party: all good
Positive news was welcomed on several fronts this week for those wishing to see our community grow and prosper. First...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 23
full story
Why punish folks along Gulf Coast twice?
Cautious optimism pervades along the Gulf Coast as experts believe the new cap has stopped the spewing geyser of crud...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 16
full story
Kay lastima! Farewell to una gran maestra
When we learned that Spanish teacher Kay Past is retiring from Coastal Bend College in August, we immediately thought...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 09
full story
More trouble brewing in the gulf?
By now we all should know the drill. On Wednesday morning, the second tropical weather system of the Atlantic season ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 07
full story
Fourth festivities dampened, not doused at Expo Center
Alex may have caused many South Texans’ plans for star-spangled Fourth of July weekend festivities to fizzle. In fact...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 02
full story
Bravery personified: Bee sting response answers age-old qu...
What an inspirational story that appeared in last weekend’s issue. It continues to be one of the most popular on our ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 30
full story
The scarlet letter
So after going to press Wednesday morning, Dennis DeWitt, director of the community affairs department of Bee County,...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 25
full story
Court, Stasny could well be losers in DeWitt case
The Bee County Commissioners Court’s handling of the curious case of Dennis DeWitt is disturbing in so many ways. The...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 23
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« manning120 wrote on Tuesday, Sep 16 at 06:22 PM »
« bassethoundrule wrote on Sunday, Sep 14 at 09:12 PM »
« Homefree77 wrote on Saturday, Sep 13 at 12:48 PM »
« Sarah27 wrote on Saturday, Sep 06 at 07:33 AM »