Experience joy of giving
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 17
As the final countdown to Christmas begins, it does our hearts good to know that more community members, particularly young people, have discovered the true meaning of gift giving. In last weekend’s issue, we reported that Sunshine Cortez, age 8, ...

Latest Editorials

Chase warehouse will add some 200 jobs, $9.5 million annua...
Never has a good news story in Beeville been so misunderstood, even by those who ought to know better. In about three...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 12
full story
Success of Veterans Wall helps recall our great debt
Thankfully, the elections are behind us and now it’s only fitting that we pay tribute to the ones who have allowed us...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 10
full story
Parting shots at election that was
It’s long been said that editorial writers watch the battle from afar and once over, ride down to shoot the wounded. ...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 05
full story
Red surf’s up: Riding wave of discontent
Tuesday night’s historic red tidal wave had a far-reaching impact, lifting many down-ballot Republicans into office a...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 03
full story
Revisiting endorsements
Early voting has ended as of Friday and Election Day will finally arrive on Tuesday, Nov. 2. Voting at the polls loca...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 29
full story
Political season, policies and garage sales: there’s a reason
Sometimes newspaper policies make news and sometimes the news is in the ads. Sound complicated? It’s not, but we’ll t...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 27
full story
Eagle Ford could be godsend for county
If readers were out of the county and missed Wednesday’s edition, our front-page banner story proclaimed that Beevill...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 22
full story
Extremely capable candidates running in area, county races
In area and county contested races in the Nov. 2 general election, Bee Countians have a few tough choices to make. Fo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 20
full story
Voters urged to cross over for best candidates
Early voting in the Nov. 2 general election begins Monday, Oct. 18, and continues until Oct. 29 at the courthouse. We...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 15
full story
Taking back neighborhoods
In San Antonio, Corpus Christi and all across the U.S., thousands of citizens turned out Tuesday evening, joining tog...
03:20 PM, Friday, October 08
full story
Polls indicate no traditional ‘gimmes’
With Election Day now under four weeks away and closing quickly, there’s certainly no avoiding it whether watching te...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 06
full story
Monday’s last chance to register to vote
A political tsunami appears to be building across America. In the New York Times Thursday, headlines blare: “Democrat...
04:00 PM, Friday, October 01
full story
Vets deserving of stadium monument
If a tribute was ever well deserved, not to mention five years overdue, it’s to the military veterans of this communi...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 24
full story
News flash: Evil wins
Intimidated into submission, the leading newspaper in Juarez raised the white flag. Sunday was a truly sad day for jo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 22
full story
Protect yourself online
You too may be a publisher and not even realize it. And that could be a problem. In our new mega-connected world of T...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 17
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« letii wrote on Wednesday, Dec 17 at 11:52 AM »
« DeeFerris wrote on Thursday, Dec 11 at 06:21 PM »
« joergarciajr wrote on Tuesday, Dec 09 at 07:16 PM »
« grandof21 wrote on Sunday, Dec 07 at 03:16 AM »