Sage advice offered before taking wheel
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, August 21
As children head back to school, admonitions to motorists in this community have been duly noted. In our last edition, several warnings were issued by local and state law enforcement authorities. First, Police Chief Joe Treviño reminded drivers to...

Latest Editorials

All’s well with flags, Mile
Thank goodness the mystery has been solved and the missing flags from the Veterans Monument have been found, unharmed...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 03
full story
Aliseda accumulates Austin accolades
It probably comes as no surprise to his many friends in Bee County that Rep. José Aliseda arrived in Austin ready to ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 01
full story
Thanks, vets, Sikorsky & Kay
As Bee Countians speed off to view the inaugural Texas Mile event hosted at Chase Field, or onto the highways to enjo...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 27
full story
Boom heard long, loud
The news just keeps getting better and better. In our last edition, we reported that Crescent Services, LLC, will bui...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 25
full story
Sacrifice remembered
Almost everyone is greatly anticipating the many exciting activities next week. High school graduation ceremonies wil...
04:00 PM, Friday, May 20
full story
Good call, Mayor
Some people are reluctant to toot their own horn... Or rev their engine and blast away from the starting line to try ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 18
full story
When it rains, it pours
Hooray, as we write this, it’s raining again – finally! It may not be enough to salvage this year’s crops and certain...
04:30 PM, Friday, May 13
full story
Perry threatens damage to state with misguided A&M, UT plans
Count us among conservatives who are not impressed with Gov. Rick Perry’s assault on higher education, particularly a...
11:28 AM, Friday, May 13
full story
Obama’s attack on industry
You might think that a U.S. company’s decision to expand its manufacturing facilities and create 1,000 new jobs here ...
11:26 AM, Friday, May 13
full story
May want to consider many weekend options
Bee Countians, like most Americans, continue be in a celebratory mood this week following the capture and death of Os...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 06
full story
Another shot heard ’round the world
Sunday night’s bombshell continues to dominate the headlines. Every other story, here and worldwide, pales in compari...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 04
full story
Party with serious theme
Purple balloons and streamers are appearing downtown, and purple ribbons and signs are being posted in stores and bus...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 27
full story
Unusual requests from councilman spur questions
Saturday’s lead story concerning the controversial allegations about the Bee County Chamber of Commerce at the City C...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 20
full story
Riding the ups and downs of helicopters
The announcement this week that Sikorsky Support Services has decided to delay the $1.8 million warehouse project at ...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 15
full story
Say ‘yes’ to nosy questions Coercive lawsuits shouldn’t ke...
They’re called SLAPP suits. The punchy acronym stands for strategic lawsuits against public participation. They are l...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 08
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« pokerchip wrote on Sunday, Aug 23 at 09:15 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Saturday, Aug 22 at 08:41 PM »
« pollo wrote on Wednesday, Aug 19 at 06:49 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Thursday, Aug 13 at 07:45 PM »