Life, liberty & happiness hanging in the balance
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 29
Another undercover video targeting Planned Parenthood has been released and, like many Americans, we find these revelations to be deeply disturbing. Whether one believes human life begins at conception or at birth, the cavalier manner in which thi...

Latest Editorials

Obama dithers while U.S. credibility burns
President Barack Obama invited ESPN into the White House this week so that The Worldwide Leader In Sports could tape ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 18
full story
Help bring Japan relief
Spring break has arrived and the weather is gorgeous, yet for many Americans, it’s difficult to be in a carefree mood...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 16
full story
Explosion underground is extremely beneficial
No one is excited about the possibility of the price of gasoline rising to $4 or more this summer. The only sensible ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 11
full story
Big steps taken for Rialto, Chase warehouse
The City Council is to be commended this morning for taking the time to re-evaluate the Rialto Theater project and se...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 09
full story
Barnhart library a jewel
On Thursday evening, the Joe Barnhart Bee County Library building celebrated its 10th anniversary on the courthouse s...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 04
full story
Glass more than half full
It could have been us, folks. In last weekend’s edition, we reported that Goliad County was served with papers for th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 02
full story
Last picture show?
It appears last weekend’s congratulatory editorial was a bit premature. Now it seems the Rialto Theater might not be ...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 25
full story
Ready. Set. Action! Rialto Theater coming back to life
The renovation process has been so lengthy and tedious for those who are anxiously anticipating the reopening of the ...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 18
full story
Moore cleans up civic award
Beeville Ford dealer Dave Moore has become a driving force in creating awareness about our city’s less than attractiv...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 16
full story
Show, sexting and squabbling – oh my
The 2011 Junior Livestock & Homemakers Show has ridden down the dusty trail of history, and from all accounts, ran re...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 11
full story
BEIC, BDA should be able to work it out
It’s important to remember that good people can disagree and have divergent interests on good projects, too. Such is ...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 04
full story
Obamacare may well be on life support
A U.S. district judge on Monday confirmed what most Americans have been saying for about a year now: that Obamacare i...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 02
full story
Adding Karnes to the fold
Excuse us if we come across as proud parents. It’s just that we’ve been in complicated negotiations since October to ...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 28
full story
Painful cuts now preferable to bankruptcy down road
Nobody is anxious to see what budget cuts are going to be made this legislative session in Austin – and where the bud...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 26
full story
BEIC delivers home run with warehouse vote
A genuine example of economic stimulus cleared a major hurdle late last week. Members of the Beeville Economic Improv...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, January 19
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« Dochogan wrote on Wednesday, Jul 29 at 12:27 PM »
« seeley wrote on Saturday, Jul 25 at 08:28 PM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Friday, Jul 24 at 07:03 PM »
« grapeape1 wrote on Thursday, Jul 23 at 05:36 PM »