Blessing and a curse
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, August 29
As Labor Day nears, some people may think of those working in the Eagle Ford Shale, many of whom are not able to enjoy a holiday weekend. In the last few days, two major articles have caught our eye – again describing the pros and cons of this eco...

Latest Editorials

Waiting on special delivery
The use of drones has taken flight recently. From killing bad guys in Pakistan to delivering packages for Amazon.com,...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 13
full story
Generosity overflows
Like an oasis in the desert, friends came to the assistance of our beleaguered citizens when the water faucets ran dr...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 11
full story
No place like homes for holidays
With the water crisis easing and as winter roars back into town on the winds of an arctic blast, Beeville area reside...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 06
full story
More than inconvenience
This is getting ridiculous. For the second time in a little more than two weeks, our citizens did not have drinkable ...
04:27 PM, Wednesday, December 04
full story
Beware holiday wrecks, thieves
Many of us can recall stories of holiday festivities turned tragic thanks to traffic accidents. In fact, the Associat...
08:00 AM, Saturday, November 30
full story
There truly is happiness to be found in Thanksgiving
Thanksgiving is our traditional day of thanks, family and celebration of the harvest. It’s turned into a day of feast...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 27
full story
Extra helping of giving
This indeed is a truly generous community. In our last edition, we reported that donations poured in for the Coastal ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 20
full story
Watch out for hamburglars
Crime is on the rise in South Texas, and owners and operators of fast-food restaurants, particularly Dairy Queens, sh...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 13
full story
Fifty years later, remembering JFK
Almost everyone who was alive at the time remembers the calamitous events of Nov. 22, 1963. Although only a third-gra...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 06
full story
25 years of stories: Tales of haunted, embellished, Southwest
Remember all those fun times when you were a child attending camp and the group leader told creepy ghost stories? Or ...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 01
full story
Take the ride of your life, part II
From last weekend’s eight-second ride atop an agitated bull to this weekend’s one-mile burst at 200 mph plus, Bee Cou...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 25
full story
Vote yes for Prop. 6
Early voting opened Monday in the Texas constitutional amendments election, which will take place Tuesday, Nov. 5. Th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 23
full story
Diversity is best water option
This community received an overflow of good news in recent days regarding our water situation. First, flood warnings ...
03:00 PM, Monday, October 21
full story
The ride of your life
One can easily determine from the western bunting and cowboy theme decor on storefronts that Western Week is riding b...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 16
full story
Balancing act: Juggling deadlines, facts and opinions to c...
As National Newspaper Week concludes and the community prepares to celebrate Western Week next week, the Bee-Picayune...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 09
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »