Riding a cool wave
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, August 22
File this away under wishful thinking. The Beeville Art Museum presented a free screening of a family-friendly movie under the stars Thursday night. The featured film: “Frozen,” naturally. If you missed that chance to chill, then there’s the “Empt...

Latest Editorials

County budget improved but not without potholes
Despite better financial conditions attributed to the Eagle Ford Shale, our county commissioners recently have been d...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 25
full story
Unaffordable care act
Thank you, President Obama and all the congressional Democrats who pushed through the still unpopular and horribly mi...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 20
full story
Are you ready to rumble?
Friday night promises to be an unusually exciting time in this community. In addition to the “Friday night lights” as...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 18
full story
Take your time and select right manager
Not exactly the place one would go if seeking a position with longevity. On Tuesday night, the Beeville City Council ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 13
full story
Many deserve recognition
Today marks the 12th anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks, and thankfully the observance has not been forgotten ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 11
full story
Habitat improving, inspiring youngster
Although the world situation appears bleak, with our nation’s leaders moving inexorably closer to entering the civil ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 06
full story
Many changes to Texas laws
As of Sept. 1, several new laws have gone into effect in Texas, and drivers and citizens better learn them fast or fa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 04
full story
Invest in your children
The teachers are already back in school and next week (starting Monday) the students will return to their respective ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 21
full story
Three unique events appeal to varied tastes
While waiting for the football season kickoff and the return of cooler weather, a trio of upcoming special events has...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 16
full story
Crime wave heating up
In these dog days of summer, one would think that even criminals would slow down and seek some shade. Yet, in recent ...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, August 14
full story
Coyotes taking advantage
Why are so many illegal immigrants being arrested in this area recently? Is it because of the promised passage of the...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 09
full story
Alternative to summer blahs
It’s early August, with heat advisories and 100-plus-degree temperatures every blessed day. Regardless, football team...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 07
full story
Tough stretch ahead for tropics; get connected now
Now it’s time to get serious. Yes, hurricane season has been under way for almost two months now, but the peak threat...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 26
full story
Driving our economy
Most stories we have read recently continue to remain positive about the Eagle Ford Shale and its impact on this regi...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 24
full story
Seen as a train wreck comin’ from all sides
Politics makes strange bedfellows – and when the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and labor unions agree, our country surely ...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 19
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »