Historic cemeteries deserve to be respected, tranquil
by Chip Latcham
09:06 AM, Wednesday, May 04
Saturday afternoon’s Texas historical marker dedication ceremony at Glenwood Cemetery was an appropriately serene and solemn observance. Our thanks to the county’s historians, including Barbara Welder, Kay Mix and Aleene Green, as well as others a...

Latest Editorials

Hey, Commissioners, let’s get off high center
It’s now six weeks since County Judge David Silva died, and his calm, rational demeanor has never been so sorely miss...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 29
full story
Texting ban needs to be law
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and Sen. Judith Zaffirini is urging passage of a bill that would ban tex...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 24
full story
Remembering our better Angels
Dodging weekend thunderstorms, air show fans finally were rewarded on Sunday at NAS Corpus Christi when the Navy’s fa...
04:29 PM, Wednesday, April 22
full story
Preservation in store
If April showers bring May flowers, we all should be covered in fields the size of the floats entered in the Tourname...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 15
full story
Good candidate choices for court to consider
A diverse, impressive list of applicants for the vacant position of Bee County judge has been revealed this week. Acc...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 10
full story
Journalists behaving badly
The Columbia Journalism Review’s investigation into Rolling Stone’s inflammatory story of rape at a University of Vir...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 08
full story
It’s deadly out there
Not surprising, but it’s getting more dangerous on our roads and highways. Bee County has been rated “safe” on a scal...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 01
full story
State worthy performance
When young people win state at anything, it’s a huge accomplishment. Whether in academic or athletic competition, it’...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 27
full story
Miles to go before they sleep
This time of year, all South Texans have to believe they’ve hit the jackpot. After the beneficial rains, the spring w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 25
full story
Don’t let them steal your joy
Surprise; the start of spring this year has been accompanied by unusually generous rainfall, bringing smiles to most ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 20
full story
Silva’s life awash in grace
In the passing of County Judge David Silva, Bee County has lost a good man. A uniquely good man. Silva was the rarest...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 18
full story
Racing to a standstill?
Spring break is here, and the weather’s warming. For young people and adults looking for something fun to do outdoors...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 13
full story
Just what is the purpose of this annual fire drill?
The National Geographic channel recently produced a special, “Sleepless in America,” which detailed our nationally ch...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 11
full story
They give and take away
Like the schizophrenic weather, our last edition featured some encouraging and disappointing headlines. On the positi...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 06
full story
Just a closer walk with Thee & some new brothers
For I was blind and now I see. – John 9:25 How does one begin to describe a life-changing experience? I recently jour...
04:00 PM, Thursday, March 05
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« fflores wrote on Tuesday, May 03 at 12:45 PM »
« B'villeTrojanFan wrote on Wednesday, Apr 27 at 07:02 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, Apr 26 at 02:00 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Monday, Apr 25 at 01:33 PM »