Historic cemeteries deserve to be respected, tranquil
by Chip Latcham
09:06 AM, Wednesday, May 04
Saturday afternoon’s Texas historical marker dedication ceremony at Glenwood Cemetery was an appropriately serene and solemn observance. Our thanks to the county’s historians, including Barbara Welder, Kay Mix and Aleene Green, as well as others a...

Latest Editorials

Coming to aid of others
Ever wonder what you would do if faced with a crisis? This week’s front-page story about a “Fatal fire” in the Goliad...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 04
full story
Protect public’s right to know
Another legislative session in Austin, another attack on the dissemination of public information. Yes, already at lea...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 27
full story
Lenten message of faith, action
Ash Wednesday marked the beginning of the Lenten season, the 40 days leading up to Easter Sunday for Christians. Some...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 20
full story
Saluting them with love
What a powerful demonstration of our appreciation. Many Americans have been searching for ways to thank our veterans ...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 13
full story
Prices could be going up
It never fails. As soon as last weekend’s edition of our newspaper started rolling off the press, featuring the front...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 11
full story
Keepin’ cowboy tradition alive
For more than 50 years, the South Texas Trail Riders have braved cold, sleet and howling north winds as they have dri...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 06
full story
In a dangerous spot
For anxious parents wanting to connect the dots, at least two local health professionals are joining national officia...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 04
full story
Volunteers a wonderful testimony; justice will not rest
As disgusting as the massive vandalism to the Glenwood-St. Joseph Cemetery was before Christmas, Saturday’s outpourin...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 30
full story
Win, place, show
The youths of Bee County, along with their animals, crafts and food entries, again are taking center stage at the Exp...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 28
full story
Spiraling out of control
Did you hear the New England Patriots cheated to reach the Super Bowl? Seriously... that’s what the national media is...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 23
full story
Innovators and educators
Fifty years ago, Bee County Chamber of Commerce leaders were bringing state education officials to Beeville in order ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 21
full story
Good reason to observe MLK Day
After such a turbulent year for race relations across the nation, the need for simple communication has never been st...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 16
full story
Better tighten those belts
Boom and bust. Those working in the oil and gas industry and receiving royalty checks have seen this cycle play out t...
03:00 AM, Wednesday, January 14
full story
Great will be their reward
This community owes an enormous debt of gratitude to Garrett Tindol and Tindol Construction Company. He and his emplo...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 09
full story
Vandalism of cemeteries cannot go unresolved
Last week’s destruction of nearly 100 tombstones and monuments in the Glenwood and St. Joseph’s cemeteries cannot be ...
03:00 PM, Monday, January 05
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« fflores wrote on Tuesday, May 03 at 12:45 PM »
« B'villeTrojanFan wrote on Wednesday, Apr 27 at 07:02 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, Apr 26 at 02:00 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Monday, Apr 25 at 01:33 PM »