Some flights grounded; others getting airborne
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, July 24
County officials’ hopes for successful usage of our improved aviation-related facilities were grounded by some unforeseen turbulence this week. Joe B. Montez, executive director of the Bee Development Authority, has learned that the Texas Legislat...

Latest Editorials

Long way from D-Day
So, let us get this straight. Our so-called American leaders traded five dangerous Taliban leaders for one apparent U...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 06
full story
Making pitch for progress
Some of us remember watching the Bee County College Cougars, coached by Bob Leach, playing their home baseball games ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 04
full story
Refreshed and clean
Almost every conversation heard around town is centered on the badly needed rains we have received this week. From Pa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 28
full story
Special remembrance
The Memorial Day weekend is upon us, and this year marks a special occurrence as veterans prepare to observe the 70th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 23
full story
A few afterthoughts
Titling last weekend’s editorial “Unfinished business” turned out to be more prophetic than we had originally intende...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 21
full story
Voters spoke Saturday
BEEVILLE – Last Saturday’s election outcomes were emphatically decided by voters wanting change. Only Beeville Mayor ...
04:36 PM, Wednesday, May 14
full story
It’s a heavenly time of the year for sports fans
May is one of the best months of the year for sports fans. The NBA basketball playoffs are in full swing and will be ...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, May 07
full story
Dire straits or sci-fi?
They are certainly putting on the full-court press. And, no, we’re not referring to the Spurs in the NBA playoffs. A ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 07
full story
Moving tribute
We must admit the Bee County Relay for Life caught us by surprise this year. Being held on Friday night (May 2) on th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 02
full story
Region’s extended future greased with oil and gas
According to oil and gas industry experts speaking at last week’s Eagle Ford Consortium Conference in San Antonio, th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 30
full story
BISD, city recommendations
In other upcoming contested races of local interest (in addition to the Coastal Bend College election discussed in We...
12:00 PM, Monday, April 28
full story
Where is Nellie Fox or Rod Carew when you need them?
Hitting a baseball is said to be one of the hardest things to do in sports. Believe it. It’s become a lost art in the...
08:00 PM, Saturday, April 26
full story
CBC at a crossroads; changes necessary, inevitable
Ancient mapmakers sometimes noted in the space beyond the known coastlines that, “There be sea monsters here.” In the...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 23
full story
Unified but different
Praise to the Beeville Ministerial Alliance. ...although its members would be the first to say all praise should be d...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 16
full story
Going back to the well
At the risk of sounding like Johnny One Note, we thought we’d sound the familiar alarm—again. On April 3, the city of...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 11
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« seeley wrote on Saturday, Jul 25 at 08:28 PM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Friday, Jul 24 at 07:03 PM »
« grapeape1 wrote on Thursday, Jul 23 at 05:36 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, Jul 21 at 03:47 PM »