Aiming for large turnout
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, July 25
How ’bout some guns and barbecue? Toss in some horses and that would be what commonly is perceived as an ideal gathering for most Texans. Instead, on Saturday, many Bee Countians will load up in their pickups and cars and make the short ride north...

Latest Editorials

Hearing clarifies some points, leaves others suspended
The City of Beeville’s town hall meeting Thursday evening provided some answers to the feasibility of a proposed $15 ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 03
full story
Beauty of springtime
How fortunate to be living in South Texas as spring begins and with Easter hopping upon us early this year. Although ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 27
full story
An expensive gamble
After reading recent position statements from the city manager, water supply district board president and Bee Develop...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 22
full story
Feeling the need for speed
Better hang onto your hats – whether ball caps, Stetsons or Easter bonnets. The Texas Mile is charging back into our ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 20
full story
Fun and games must stop
Thursday’s banner headline in the Corpus Christi Caller-Times announced “Sequester cuts Navy air show,” which probabl...
07:00 PM, Friday, March 08
full story
Of trust and water
Two major stories in our weekend edition should have raised some eyebrows. Three local residents were named among 32 ...
01:41 PM, Thursday, March 07
full story
Dance slippers & tool belts; Projects spring forth to bene...
Our community has received some wonderful news in the last few days. First, the Coastal Bend College Foundation learn...
11:47 AM, Friday, March 01
full story
Neither snow nor rain nor heat... except for Saturdays
Many in our office were shaking their heads approvingly in admiration of our dear friend and colleague Mary Henkel Ju...
07:58 PM, Friday, February 22
full story
Knew this area was heating up, but Saudi?
The lead story in Sunday’s business section of the San Antonio Express-News fueled rampant optimism in the economic o...
04:19 PM, Wednesday, February 20
full story
No. 1 priority should be H2O
From Wentz it came... and went. If Beeville residents want to discover what could happen if its city leaders don’t en...
07:01 PM, Friday, February 15
full story
Steer clear of driver fatigue
Many of us have been there, and it’s a precarious place to be. In this week’s Progress, our sister newspaper, the lea...
05:00 PM, Wednesday, February 13
full story
If it’s February, it must be time for some football
Days after the Super Bowl, the head-scratching, 34-minute power outage’s cause remains uncertain. Beyonce’s electrify...
08:36 PM, Thursday, February 07
full story
Help energize our youth
Maybe it’s because it hasn’t been freezing cold, or people’s focus has been on other pressing matters, the Eagle Ford...
02:53 PM, Wednesday, January 30
full story
All should tap the brakes on criticism
Both sides have valid points in the latest Beeville City Council vs. Bee Development Authority confrontation. First, ...
12:43 PM, Tuesday, January 29
full story
Who’s your Scrapdaddy?
Some highly unusual art exhibits have come to the Beeville Art Museum in the past. We can recall artists from all ove...
03:09 PM, Wednesday, January 23
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Thursday, Jul 24 at 05:28 PM »
« mlwkelley wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 07:52 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 06:59 PM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Saturday, Jul 19 at 09:13 PM »