Life, liberty & happiness hanging in the balance
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 29
Another undercover video targeting Planned Parenthood has been released and, like many Americans, we find these revelations to be deeply disturbing. Whether one believes human life begins at conception or at birth, the cavalier manner in which thi...

Latest Editorials

Looking ahead with relish to Fourth festivities changeup
Flag Day is Sunday and Father’s Day’s next weekend, but many community members already are anticipating the Fourth of...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 12
full story
Local police demonstrate investment in community
Racial tensions are running high across the nation in regards to police-community relationships. Even here in Texas, ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 10
full story
Grads: It’s your life, choose wisely
As new high school graduates begin the next stage of their lives, many will be focused on colleges and careers. That ...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 05
full story
Recent disaster experiences lead to caution
Another hurricane season has arrived with June... and another year has passed since most residents in the Coastal Ben...
03:00 PM, Thursday, June 04
full story
Habitat for Humanity getting off the ground
Three years ago, Bee County Habitat for Humanity members completed their first two projects for “A Brush with Kindnes...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 29
full story
Flooded with bad news
Fortunately, no local disasters were reported by Bee County authorities following Tuesday night’s tornado warning and...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 27
full story
Patriotism on display
As thousands of displaced people fleeing the violence in Ramadi flooded into Baghdad this week, Americans again are r...
04:00 PM, Friday, May 22
full story
Rain or not, events will go on
Weather experts have determined the drought is over in South Texas, according to several recent reports. Waterlogged ...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 15
full story
Surprise, it’s a judge!
In a moment of “what just happened here?,” the Bee County Commissioners Court emerged from its closed session and una...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 13
full story
Honoring their memory
Although many stories have caused our readers to shake their heads in disbelief or disgust, one published in the last...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 08
full story
Not making much noise
For those who have noticed all the Blue Angels references appearing on this page in recent editions, we have an apt d...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 06
full story
College takes center stage this weekend
While the county’s citizens wait for our commissioners to appoint a new county judge, a prime opportunity has been pr...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 01
full story
Hey, Commissioners, let’s get off high center
It’s now six weeks since County Judge David Silva died, and his calm, rational demeanor has never been so sorely miss...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 29
full story
Texting ban needs to be law
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and Sen. Judith Zaffirini is urging passage of a bill that would ban tex...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 24
full story
Remembering our better Angels
Dodging weekend thunderstorms, air show fans finally were rewarded on Sunday at NAS Corpus Christi when the Navy’s fa...
04:29 PM, Wednesday, April 22
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DubiousForever wrote on Monday, Aug 03 at 02:27 PM »
« donschmidt wrote on Monday, Aug 03 at 08:38 AM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Friday, Jul 31 at 09:03 PM »
« Dochogan wrote on Wednesday, Jul 29 at 12:27 PM »