Don’t need feds’ guidance to tell us where to go
by Chip Latcham
11:23 AM, Friday, May 20
C’mon now, keep the federal government out of our restrooms. If the feds have no business in our bedrooms, then, for heaven’s sake, why should we allow them to bother us in bathrooms. According to a CNN story, Texas Gov. Greg Abbott said Monday th...

Latest Editorials

The Good News of Easter
Early Sunday morning, while it was still dark, Mary Magdalene came to the tomb and found that the stone had been roll...
06:00 AM, Sunday, March 27
full story
Would you like some salt with your news?
Longtime A.C. Jones High School English and journalism teacher Jean Dugat made it a point to teach her students to be...
05:04 PM, Monday, March 21
full story
About to get loud, proud
The signs of spring are everywhere. Birds are singing in the early morning, wildflowers are popping up in the country...
03:03 PM, Thursday, March 17
full story
Heed spring break warnings
Daylight-saving time began Sunday and, although not advocates of moving around the internal clock, we look forward to...
12:00 PM, Tuesday, March 15
full story
Continuity honors Carlos
Bee County commissioners appear to be in no hurry to appoint a successor to our late sheriff, and that’s as it should...
07:59 AM, Monday, March 14
full story
Congrats to winners, in election & on court
While this community still is mourning the loss of our beloved sheriff, Carlos Carrizales, we offer some thoughts fol...
09:02 AM, Friday, March 04
full story
Carrizales dared to dream
Let’s dispense with the “editorial we” today because this is personal and I want to tell you about my friend, Sheriff...
09:53 AM, Wednesday, March 02
full story
Super Tuesday is your chance to speak out
Now Texans get their turn to influence the national discussion as Super Tuesday nears, and we’re the next big delegat...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 26
full story
BISD should expand search for new chief
Six months ago in this space, we wondered if the Beeville Independent School District trustees were doing their due d...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 19
full story
Cruz, Gonzales, Silvas worthy of primary endorsements
Early voting opened Tuesday in the Texas Democratic and Republican primary elections, scheduled for March 1. After re...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 17
full story
What’s old is new again?
As Sanders, Trump, Hillary, Cruz and the rest of the presidential candidates shift their operations from New Hampshir...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 12
full story
This is not a reality show
If you’re not entertained by this year’s presidential primaries, then you likely are disgusted. Such is the split of ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 10
full story
Pumping $$$ into show sale to energize productive youth
Our last issue front-page plea repeats a consistent theme being delivered this year. First, there was the warning hea...
03:00 PM, Monday, February 08
full story
Caring hearts to build new home for family
Now it’s getting real, where the hammer meets nail. At last week’s Bee County Habitat for Humanity board meeting, mem...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 03
full story
Grounds for concern; hope for a new refuge
The lead story in this week’s Karnes Countywide was certainly an eye-opener for many readers. Editor Joe Baker began ...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 29
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« Audreyraes wrote on Saturday, May 21 at 09:31 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, May 20 at 07:35 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, May 18 at 12:57 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, May 17 at 10:29 PM »