Cornyn, Smith, Abbott, Houston earn top of ballot ...
by Chip Latcham and Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, October 17
Early voting begins Monday in the 2014 general election, an important midterm in many states, including Texas, which are deciding the outcomes of races for governor and U.S. senator. After much research, we offer the following recommendations in c...

Latest Editorials

Be the exception
If only... Those words sometimes stand between a man (or woman) and a rewarding career; Or an honest, drug-free life,...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, August 13
full story
Major hang-up rectified?
Can you hear them now? Many Bee Countians certainly hope so. For several weeks, county offices have been plagued with...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 08
full story
Summerfest-ivities ready to heat up the nights
Bee County Chamber of Commerce officials are cautiously optimistic as they head into the big Summerfest weekend. “Wed...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 06
full story
No kidding around with heat
August, usually the hottest time of the year, has arrived. In addition, Thursday (July 31) officially was declared Na...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 01
full story
Return to border crisis
Another week, another unresolved federal crisis. We read with great interest in this week’s Goliad Advance-Guard abou...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 30
full story
Aiming for large turnout
How ’bout some guns and barbecue? Toss in some horses and that would be what commonly is perceived as an ideal gather...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 25
full story
Problem at our doorstep
Many readers of our sister publication, The Karnes Countywide, were surprised this week to learn that a Karnes County...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 23
full story
Reinforcing conservation
We knew it wouldn’t last. The wetter, cooler May-June has turned back into the customary hot, dry July, and our nearb...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 16
full story
Hobby Lobby ruling not the misogyny left makes out
It has long been suspected that the Supreme Court hates women, although it took the court’s 5-4 decision in the Hobby...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 11
full story
Eagle Ford swings a double-edged sword
Once again, we have an unobstructed, close-up view of the pros and cons of residing in the Eagle Ford Shale. In Satur...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, July 09
full story
Timely tribute reminds us of America’s best
Just when you think things couldn’t get much worse... From the unaccompanied illegal immigrant children pouring acros...
04:00 PM, Friday, July 04
full story
Extra reasons for celebrating this Fourth
As most of us are preparing for the July 4th holiday weekend, some recent developments deserve mention. First, Coasta...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, July 02
full story
Most in surge of child border crossers aren’t leaving
Of the more than 24,000 unaccompanied children who entered the United States illegally last year, most haven’t left —...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 27
full story
When are they going to wake up in Washington?
The headlines keep getting more dire and troubling. In Tuesday morning’s Corpus Christi Caller-Times: “Tension rises ...
04:00 PM, Thursday, June 26
full story
Props for Kids College changes
Three cheers for Coastal Bend College. Better make that four cheers, as all four campuses participated by hosting abo...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 20
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« newshound123 wrote on Sunday, Oct 19 at 12:33 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Oct 10 at 05:53 PM »
« Sandys141 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 08 at 10:05 AM »
« Beeville wrote on Friday, Oct 03 at 09:07 PM »