Flooded with bad news
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 27
Fortunately, no local disasters were reported by Bee County authorities following Tuesday night’s tornado warning and the latest in the recent onslaught of severe thunderstorms. However, nothing compares with the destruction in other parts of our ...

Latest Editorials

Don’t let them steal your joy
Surprise; the start of spring this year has been accompanied by unusually generous rainfall, bringing smiles to most ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 20
full story
Silva’s life awash in grace
In the passing of County Judge David Silva, Bee County has lost a good man. A uniquely good man. Silva was the rarest...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 18
full story
Racing to a standstill?
Spring break is here, and the weather’s warming. For young people and adults looking for something fun to do outdoors...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 13
full story
Just what is the purpose of this annual fire drill?
The National Geographic channel recently produced a special, “Sleepless in America,” which detailed our nationally ch...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 11
full story
They give and take away
Like the schizophrenic weather, our last edition featured some encouraging and disappointing headlines. On the positi...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 06
full story
Just a closer walk with Thee & some new brothers
For I was blind and now I see. – John 9:25 How does one begin to describe a life-changing experience? I recently jour...
04:00 PM, Thursday, March 05
full story
Coming to aid of others
Ever wonder what you would do if faced with a crisis? This week’s front-page story about a “Fatal fire” in the Goliad...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 04
full story
Protect public’s right to know
Another legislative session in Austin, another attack on the dissemination of public information. Yes, already at lea...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 27
full story
Lenten message of faith, action
Ash Wednesday marked the beginning of the Lenten season, the 40 days leading up to Easter Sunday for Christians. Some...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 20
full story
Saluting them with love
What a powerful demonstration of our appreciation. Many Americans have been searching for ways to thank our veterans ...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 13
full story
Prices could be going up
It never fails. As soon as last weekend’s edition of our newspaper started rolling off the press, featuring the front...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 11
full story
Keepin’ cowboy tradition alive
For more than 50 years, the South Texas Trail Riders have braved cold, sleet and howling north winds as they have dri...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 06
full story
In a dangerous spot
For anxious parents wanting to connect the dots, at least two local health professionals are joining national officia...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 04
full story
Volunteers a wonderful testimony; justice will not rest
As disgusting as the massive vandalism to the Glenwood-St. Joseph Cemetery was before Christmas, Saturday’s outpourin...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 30
full story
Win, place, show
The youths of Bee County, along with their animals, crafts and food entries, again are taking center stage at the Exp...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 28
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« brendajoyce wrote on Wednesday, May 27 at 04:54 PM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Sunday, May 24 at 09:02 AM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Friday, May 15 at 03:11 PM »
« champyun03 wrote on Thursday, May 14 at 10:03 AM »