CBC at a crossroads; changes necessary, inevitable
by Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 23
Ancient mapmakers sometimes noted in the space beyond the known coastlines that, “There be sea monsters here.” In the races to fill three Coastal Bend College board seats, we should all be able to agree there are no sea monsters running here. Ever...

Latest Editorials

Maybe stiff fines will click with negligent motorists
School’s out and summerlike temperatures are again greeting Bee Countians. For those who are hopping in their vehicle...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 05
full story
Congratulations, ‘09 grads!
By the time many of you read this, graduation ceremonies will have already been held around the county. Again, our co...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 29
full story
Remembering a friend
It was one of those calls you never expect and never want to receive. But it came just the same and stole the collect...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 27
full story
Remembering those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our ...
We have long lived in a land of plenty and sometimes that’s a double-edged sword. Far too many in America have totall...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 22
full story
The pen and shield
May 13, 2009, proved to be an important day for those of us who practice journalism in this state. Texas became the 3...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 15
full story
Kudos; let’s roll!
One of the under-appreciated aspects of our American form of democracy is the peaceful transferal of power. It’s only...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 13
full story
Working together applauded
At a joint meeting Tuesday at the courthouse, the Bee County Commissioners Court and Beeville City Council decided to...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 08
full story
Why no parks master plan?
Some citizens want the City of Beeville to spend taxpayers’ money on improvements to Veterans Memorial Park; others w...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 01
full story
Scotten worthy of second term
Early voting is now underway for the City Council Ward 1 seat pitting challenger Belinda Saldivar Granado against the...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 29
full story
Chase reunion bringing familiar faces back home
Forgive longtime residents of Beeville if they are transported to days gone by this weekend. Bear with them if they w...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 24
full story
Restoring beauty to our little part of earth
Although we have concerns with the “green” agenda of the radical environmentalists, particularly about global warming...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 22
full story
Tea for two costs trillions for me and you
Did you brew tea this morning instead of coffee? Both Democrat and Republican county officials and voters were assemb...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 15
full story
Digging ourselves in deeper
Count us among those who don’t believe the massive government spending from TARP to the stimulus package to now the $...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 08
full story
No. 1 is their goal
Hail to the Lady Trojans. It’s been an inspirational season filled with phenomenal firsts for the varsity soccer team...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 01
full story
Mayor’s move odd but mostly harmless
Tuesday’s sudden resignation of Ken Chesshir from his duties as the lame-duck mayor of Beeville and nomination of Joh...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 27
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DubiousForever wrote on Tuesday, Apr 22 at 08:00 PM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Monday, Apr 21 at 11:53 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Monday, Apr 21 at 04:29 PM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Sunday, Apr 20 at 03:31 PM »