Avoiding school daze
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 27
Most parents can be easily identified by their broad grins as children began the new school year. But for those of us with no children, grown children, or otherwise not paying attention, the school year began Monday. The flashing school zone light...

Latest Editorials

Progress made on several fronts; DuBose more than worthy; ...
Several stories in Wednesday’s Bee-Picayune deserve special mention. First, congratulations to the Beeville City Coun...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 30
full story
Vote to protect property rights
As of Thursday morning, a “whopping” 25 voters had streamed to the early voting polls at the Bee County clerk’s offic...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 23
full story
And the band played on... and won Superior rating!
Members of the Mighty Trojan Band should have earned a gold medal in the “Ironman Competition” for their performance ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 21
full story
Saddle up your horses for another exciting ride
Western Week has ridden back into town for its 1984 family-oriented, fun-filled festivities. Many of us old-timers ha...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 16
full story
Talk is cheap; not talking proving quite expensive
It’s one of those headlines that leave you shaking your head as a taxpayer and probably never would have come about w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 14
full story
4-H’ers deserve a hand
If you haven’t had cause to drive Washington Street in downtown Beeville this week, you really need to find a reason ...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 09
full story
Double entry? Double trouble
There’s plenty of finger-pointing to go around when the county discovered at the 11th hour last week that its budget ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 07
full story
October blows in with plenty of good deeds, things to do
The cold front that blew into town Friday morning, accompanied by a few scattered rain showers, helped lift spirits w...
03:30 PM, Friday, October 02
full story
Flu not to be fooled with
It’s always tragic when a young person dies. This autumn is particularly scary with the presence of the swine flu, or...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 30
full story
Taking a chance on kids
One hundred thousand dollars is a lot of money – especially during a recession and in a property tax-poor region of t...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 23
full story
Life’s a blast in autumn
Friday morning was like Christmas for most outdoorsmen and women in and near Bee County. Some residents awoke to the ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 18
full story
New law designed to stop drunk drivers
The solution to this problem is so simple: Just don’t drink and drive. A new Texas law, which took effect Sept. 1, fo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 16
full story
Thankful, concerned and dancing
Some random thoughts while enjoying our current rainy spell which may – may – break our extended drought. We join mem...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 11
full story
Fiesta’s return welcome, ushering in fall season
The weather’s a bit cooler and even an occasional blessed rain has fallen. Fall cannot be far away. The calendar tell...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 09
full story
Reminder: Avoid flu germs
Wildfires are raging across Southern California. A monster hurricane is bearing down on the Baja California coast. Ye...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 02
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »