CBC at a crossroads; changes necessary, inevitable
by Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 23
Ancient mapmakers sometimes noted in the space beyond the known coastlines that, “There be sea monsters here.” In the races to fill three Coastal Bend College board seats, we should all be able to agree there are no sea monsters running here. Ever...

Latest Editorials

City must weigh economy when designing skate park
It appears that most people commenting on our website about the city’s plans to build a skate park are in agreement –...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 25
full story
Farewell to Coach Soza
On Tuesday night, the rumors became reality. Chris Soza, the Beeville Trojans’ athletic director and head football co...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 11
full story
Chase, Sikorsky looking good when national economy doubtful
Sometimes it takes a fresh perspective to allow one to obtain a better understanding of what one is fortunate enough ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 06
full story
Galloway earns best in show
Friday evening more than 260 Chamber of Commerce members and friends gathered to celebrate Beeville and Bee County. O...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 04
full story
Limits on free speech?
Freedom of speech is a hot topic these days on our website, www.mysoutex.com. It seems to crop up on any bulletin boa...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 27
full story
Time to discard plastic
We were hoping the Beeville City Council would take the next logical step in improving the appearance of this communi...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 25
full story
Help stop illegal dumping
For all too long dumping trash illegally has been thought of as a minor offense by all too many. We would hope to ope...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 20
full story
Now that the county is in the black, let’s not go back
News last week that Bee County’s accounts – as reported by County Auditor Susanna Morón – are up nearly $2 million ov...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 18
full story
Drought dragging on
Pray for rain, read the banner headline on this week’s lead story on the front page of The Progress covering Live Oak...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 13
full story
Liftoff for our economy
For those who remember Chase Field in its prime, when the naval base was humming with aviation-related activity, a to...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 11
full story
Valuable lessons offered
Special sale Saturday’s here. The 2009 Bee County Junior Livestock and Homemakers Show is drawing to close at the Bee...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 06
full story
‘Stimulus’ reeks of rancid pork
The headlines around the state and nation touting how much money local governments would receive from the proposed $8...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, February 04
full story
Hello, Dr. Madrid; goodbye to Echevarria
You say goodbye and we say hello. With apologies to the Beatles, Wednesday’s edition reported that Beeville area resi...
02:00 PM, Friday, January 30
full story
Local economy far better than national headlines
If an economy runs on capital, it is lubricated by confidence and trust – even a small local economy. With the daily ...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 23
full story
Day of joy and unity
One could feel the excitement, the electricity in the crowd, as people assembled in the cool morning Monday at the Be...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, January 21
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DubiousForever wrote on Tuesday, Apr 22 at 08:00 PM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Monday, Apr 21 at 11:53 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Monday, Apr 21 at 04:29 PM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Sunday, Apr 20 at 03:31 PM »