Protect public’s right to know
by Chip Latcham and Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, February 27
Another legislative session in Austin, another attack on the dissemination of public information. Yes, already at least six bills have been filed by Texas House and Senate members that, in essence, would hide or make it more difficult to find out ...

Latest Editorials

You must prove who you are everywhere but the ballot box
Well, here we go again. A federal judge in Corpus Christi on Thursday evening rejected Texas’ voter ID law, just days...
04:00 PM, Friday, October 10
full story
Measured response to Ebola needed to contain disease
It would seem a good dose of composure and common sense is just what the doctor ordered now. Fears are spreading abou...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 08
full story
Chamber roars back
Friday night’s Chamber of Commerce banquet at Chase Field was praised by many of those in attendance. If it had not b...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 01
full story
EFS boom showing no signs of slowing down
“How long is it going to last?” That’s the $64 billion question – adjusted to Eagle Ford Shale values. Many of us who...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 26
full story
Spotlights shining brightly Friday night
Friday night should prove to be quite memorable for this community. First, it’s the Beeville Trojans’ Homecoming game...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 24
full story
The late, great Wednesday edition (or how we got de-pressed)
“Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the mouth.” – Mike Tyson, former heavyweight boxing champion Astute r...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 19
full story
Shooting ahead to fall attractions
Although many people are ecstatic about this weekend’s special events (Fight Night 2 and Diez y Seis), others already...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 12
full story
Them’s fightin’ words
Fiesta goers may have to fight to get through the crowds Saturday night at the Bee County Expo Center. For many of th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 10
full story
Sending strong message
“He is the kind of guy that should have been deported a long time ago.” One can feel the frustration in the voice of ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 05
full story
Blessing and a curse
As Labor Day nears, some people may think of those working in the Eagle Ford Shale, many of whom are not able to enjo...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 29
full story
Avoiding school daze
Most parents can be easily identified by their broad grins as children began the new school year. But for those of us...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 27
full story
Riding a cool wave
File this away under wishful thinking. The Beeville Art Museum presented a free screening of a family-friendly movie ...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 22
full story
Reminder: limit watering
Sadly, it’s getting drier and drier. Bee County remains under a burn ban; underground water tables are dropping; and ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 20
full story
Generosity’s valuable lesson
It’s sunshine and a thousand degrees every day; the football teams and bands are outside sweating on the practice fie...
04:00 PM, Friday, August 15
full story
Be the exception
If only... Those words sometimes stand between a man (or woman) and a rewarding career; Or an honest, drug-free life,...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, August 13
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« ashleynp wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 04:40 PM »
« davidspandau wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 11:14 AM »
« Perezuaw wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 10:51 AM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Thursday, Feb 26 at 09:59 PM »