Jobs?!? We don’t need no stinking jobs
by Jeff Latcham
04:40 PM, Friday, May 27
If you’re a small business, you likely feel under siege. And you are right. For all the talk about being for the small guy that comes out of Washington and the White House, make no mistake small business is in the crosshairs and so are the jobs it...

Latest Editorials

Caring hearts to build new home for family
Now it’s getting real, where the hammer meets nail. At last week’s Bee County Habitat for Humanity board meeting, mem...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 03
full story
Grounds for concern; hope for a new refuge
The lead story in this week’s Karnes Countywide was certainly an eye-opener for many readers. Editor Joe Baker began ...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 29
full story
Galloping forward to junior show & a warning
Another trip around the sun and already it’s time again for the Bee County Junior Livestock & Homemakers Show. The 20...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 27
full story
Angels all around us
What a glorious morning and spectacular turnout greeted organizers and participants in this year’s Martin Luther King...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 20
full story
The dream lives on and still challenges all
The inspiring article about Nellie Hinderman McLeod, appearing in today’s edition written by reporter Bill Clough, ma...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 15
full story
Measured response by court appreciated
Common sense is woefully in short supply nowadays. Particularly, in the public arena when it comes to the volatile is...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 13
full story
Local economic engine still firing on several cylinders
Tracy Florence, new Bee County Chamber of Commerce executive director, and her board of directors have ambitious goal...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 06
full story
Blessing others in our midst
Area auto racing fans received a huge Christmas present when the Beeville City Council voted last week to approve a $...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 30
full story
Rediscover Immanuel
Despite the precious children’s letters to Santa and Vineyard volunteers wrapping up another successful Toys for Tots...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 23
full story
Serving and witnessing as Christmas approaches
Toys for Tots and Holly Jolly organizers have packed their bags for another year. Christmas concerts, ballets, tree f...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 18
full story
’Tis the season for thieves, accidents, too
Like a game with the play clock winding down, the nights before Christmas have entered the final countdown. Ten, nine...
03:13 PM, Wednesday, December 16
full story
Holiday avalanche seen along southern border
We’ve heard this story before – like watching Christmas classic movie reruns. According to the Los Angeles Times, “Fe...
03:14 PM, Friday, December 11
full story
Stars of wonder will shine
While the world worries about the next terrorist attack, and politicians grapple over what to do about Middle Eastern...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 09
full story
Delivering holiday cheer
If like Charlie Brown at 50, you are trying to find happiness or the true meaning of Christmas, this Saturday you hav...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 04
full story
Bring joy back to holidays
Thanksgiving is now behind us, and most survived Black Friday and Cyber Monday. We hope that all Bee County area merc...
04:03 PM, Wednesday, December 02
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« karonloc6 wrote on Thursday, May 26 at 12:50 PM »
« Audreyraes wrote on Saturday, May 21 at 09:31 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, May 20 at 07:35 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, May 18 at 12:57 PM »