Cornyn, Smith, Abbott, Houston earn top of ballot ...
by Chip Latcham and Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, October 17
Early voting begins Monday in the 2014 general election, an important midterm in many states, including Texas, which are deciding the outcomes of races for governor and U.S. senator. After much research, we offer the following recommendations in c...

Latest Editorials

Noticeable improvement to Spohn Hospital’s ER
Count us among those impressed. A nice turnout of members of the Bee County medical community, Chamber of Commerce an...
07:00 AM, Thursday, June 19
full story
Don’t get skunked
After an unusually cooler, wetter end of spring, the dog days of summer are fast approaching. And this year, in addit...
08:00 PM, Saturday, June 14
full story
Surge of kids crossing border means trouble
What started as a trickle has turned into a steady, troubling flow. Articles in the national and international media ...
12:00 PM, Wednesday, June 11
full story
Long way from D-Day
So, let us get this straight. Our so-called American leaders traded five dangerous Taliban leaders for one apparent U...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 06
full story
Making pitch for progress
Some of us remember watching the Bee County College Cougars, coached by Bob Leach, playing their home baseball games ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 04
full story
Refreshed and clean
Almost every conversation heard around town is centered on the badly needed rains we have received this week. From Pa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 28
full story
Special remembrance
The Memorial Day weekend is upon us, and this year marks a special occurrence as veterans prepare to observe the 70th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 23
full story
A few afterthoughts
Titling last weekend’s editorial “Unfinished business” turned out to be more prophetic than we had originally intende...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 21
full story
Voters spoke Saturday
BEEVILLE – Last Saturday’s election outcomes were emphatically decided by voters wanting change. Only Beeville Mayor ...
04:36 PM, Wednesday, May 14
full story
It’s a heavenly time of the year for sports fans
May is one of the best months of the year for sports fans. The NBA basketball playoffs are in full swing and will be ...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, May 07
full story
Dire straits or sci-fi?
They are certainly putting on the full-court press. And, no, we’re not referring to the Spurs in the NBA playoffs. A ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 07
full story
Moving tribute
We must admit the Bee County Relay for Life caught us by surprise this year. Being held on Friday night (May 2) on th...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 02
full story
Region’s extended future greased with oil and gas
According to oil and gas industry experts speaking at last week’s Eagle Ford Consortium Conference in San Antonio, th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 30
full story
BISD, city recommendations
In other upcoming contested races of local interest (in addition to the Coastal Bend College election discussed in We...
12:00 PM, Monday, April 28
full story
Where is Nellie Fox or Rod Carew when you need them?
Hitting a baseball is said to be one of the hardest things to do in sports. Believe it. It’s become a lost art in the...
08:00 PM, Saturday, April 26
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« newshound123 wrote on Sunday, Oct 19 at 12:33 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Oct 10 at 05:53 PM »
« Sandys141 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 08 at 10:05 AM »
« Beeville wrote on Friday, Oct 03 at 09:07 PM »