Blessing and a curse
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, August 29
As Labor Day nears, some people may think of those working in the Eagle Ford Shale, many of whom are not able to enjoy a holiday weekend. In the last few days, two major articles have caught our eye – again describing the pros and cons of this eco...

Latest Editorials

Restoring beauty to our little part of earth
Although we have concerns with the “green” agenda of the radical environmentalists, particularly about global warming...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 22
full story
Tea for two costs trillions for me and you
Did you brew tea this morning instead of coffee? Both Democrat and Republican county officials and voters were assemb...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 15
full story
Digging ourselves in deeper
Count us among those who don’t believe the massive government spending from TARP to the stimulus package to now the $...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 08
full story
No. 1 is their goal
Hail to the Lady Trojans. It’s been an inspirational season filled with phenomenal firsts for the varsity soccer team...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 01
full story
Mayor’s move odd but mostly harmless
Tuesday’s sudden resignation of Ken Chesshir from his duties as the lame-duck mayor of Beeville and nomination of Joh...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 27
full story
City must weigh economy when designing skate park
It appears that most people commenting on our website about the city’s plans to build a skate park are in agreement –...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 25
full story
Farewell to Coach Soza
On Tuesday night, the rumors became reality. Chris Soza, the Beeville Trojans’ athletic director and head football co...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 11
full story
Chase, Sikorsky looking good when national economy doubtful
Sometimes it takes a fresh perspective to allow one to obtain a better understanding of what one is fortunate enough ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 06
full story
Galloway earns best in show
Friday evening more than 260 Chamber of Commerce members and friends gathered to celebrate Beeville and Bee County. O...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 04
full story
Limits on free speech?
Freedom of speech is a hot topic these days on our website, www.mysoutex.com. It seems to crop up on any bulletin boa...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 27
full story
Time to discard plastic
We were hoping the Beeville City Council would take the next logical step in improving the appearance of this communi...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 25
full story
Help stop illegal dumping
For all too long dumping trash illegally has been thought of as a minor offense by all too many. We would hope to ope...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 20
full story
Now that the county is in the black, let’s not go back
News last week that Bee County’s accounts – as reported by County Auditor Susanna Morón – are up nearly $2 million ov...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 18
full story
Drought dragging on
Pray for rain, read the banner headline on this week’s lead story on the front page of The Progress covering Live Oak...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 13
full story
Liftoff for our economy
For those who remember Chase Field in its prime, when the naval base was humming with aviation-related activity, a to...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 11
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »