Just a closer walk with Thee & some new brothers
by Chip Latcham
04:00 PM, Thursday, March 05
For I was blind and now I see. – John 9:25 How does one begin to describe a life-changing experience? I recently journeyed to Camp Zephyr at Lake Corpus Christi to spend three days with a group of about 20 homeless men from the Coastal Bend – and ...

Latest Editorials

And the band played on... and won Superior rating!
Members of the Mighty Trojan Band should have earned a gold medal in the “Ironman Competition” for their performance ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 21
full story
Saddle up your horses for another exciting ride
Western Week has ridden back into town for its 1984 family-oriented, fun-filled festivities. Many of us old-timers ha...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 16
full story
Talk is cheap; not talking proving quite expensive
It’s one of those headlines that leave you shaking your head as a taxpayer and probably never would have come about w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 14
full story
4-H’ers deserve a hand
If you haven’t had cause to drive Washington Street in downtown Beeville this week, you really need to find a reason ...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 09
full story
Double entry? Double trouble
There’s plenty of finger-pointing to go around when the county discovered at the 11th hour last week that its budget ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 07
full story
October blows in with plenty of good deeds, things to do
The cold front that blew into town Friday morning, accompanied by a few scattered rain showers, helped lift spirits w...
03:30 PM, Friday, October 02
full story
Flu not to be fooled with
It’s always tragic when a young person dies. This autumn is particularly scary with the presence of the swine flu, or...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 30
full story
Taking a chance on kids
One hundred thousand dollars is a lot of money – especially during a recession and in a property tax-poor region of t...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 23
full story
Life’s a blast in autumn
Friday morning was like Christmas for most outdoorsmen and women in and near Bee County. Some residents awoke to the ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 18
full story
New law designed to stop drunk drivers
The solution to this problem is so simple: Just don’t drink and drive. A new Texas law, which took effect Sept. 1, fo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 16
full story
Thankful, concerned and dancing
Some random thoughts while enjoying our current rainy spell which may – may – break our extended drought. We join mem...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 11
full story
Fiesta’s return welcome, ushering in fall season
The weather’s a bit cooler and even an occasional blessed rain has fallen. Fall cannot be far away. The calendar tell...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 09
full story
Reminder: Avoid flu germs
Wildfires are raging across Southern California. A monster hurricane is bearing down on the Baja California coast. Ye...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 02
full story
CBC finds itself a hit; congressman still a miss
Scattershooting ... (with apologies to Blackie Sherrod) while waiting for some fall weather to catch up with the star...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 28
full story
Hinojosa’s cowardice
Saturday morning’s protest by the Tea Party Patriots in front of U.S. Rep. Rubén Hinojosa’s office here came off with...
03:30 PM, Wednesday, August 26
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« April3rd wrote on Wednesday, Mar 04 at 10:41 AM »
« tfer77 wrote on Monday, Mar 02 at 08:25 PM »
« ashleynp wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 04:40 PM »
« davidspandau wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 11:14 AM »