Aiming for large turnout
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, July 25
How ’bout some guns and barbecue? Toss in some horses and that would be what commonly is perceived as an ideal gathering for most Texans. Instead, on Saturday, many Bee Countians will load up in their pickups and cars and make the short ride north...

Latest Editorials

Time to discard plastic
We were hoping the Beeville City Council would take the next logical step in improving the appearance of this communi...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 25
full story
Help stop illegal dumping
For all too long dumping trash illegally has been thought of as a minor offense by all too many. We would hope to ope...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 20
full story
Now that the county is in the black, let’s not go back
News last week that Bee County’s accounts – as reported by County Auditor Susanna Morón – are up nearly $2 million ov...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 18
full story
Drought dragging on
Pray for rain, read the banner headline on this week’s lead story on the front page of The Progress covering Live Oak...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 13
full story
Liftoff for our economy
For those who remember Chase Field in its prime, when the naval base was humming with aviation-related activity, a to...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 11
full story
Valuable lessons offered
Special sale Saturday’s here. The 2009 Bee County Junior Livestock and Homemakers Show is drawing to close at the Bee...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 06
full story
‘Stimulus’ reeks of rancid pork
The headlines around the state and nation touting how much money local governments would receive from the proposed $8...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, February 04
full story
Hello, Dr. Madrid; goodbye to Echevarria
You say goodbye and we say hello. With apologies to the Beatles, Wednesday’s edition reported that Beeville area resi...
02:00 PM, Friday, January 30
full story
Local economy far better than national headlines
If an economy runs on capital, it is lubricated by confidence and trust – even a small local economy. With the daily ...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 23
full story
Day of joy and unity
One could feel the excitement, the electricity in the crowd, as people assembled in the cool morning Monday at the Be...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, January 21
full story
Positive developments abound locally
As the community prepares to celebrate Martin Luther King Day on Monday and the nation prepares to inaugurate a new p...
02:00 PM, Friday, January 16
full story
Hughes, county strike win-win deal with big dividend poten...
Developments this week at the Bee County Commissioners Court and the Bee Development Authority open the door for big ...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, January 14
full story
Sweet surprise for STISD
Another year, another honor. Whether it is for being chosen as a Blue Ribbon School or cited as “exemplary” or “recog...
02:00 PM, Friday, January 09
full story
New vision for highways
According to a story appearing online in the Jan. 6 edition of the Austin American-Statesman, the Trans-Texas Corrido...
12:00 PM, Wednesday, January 07
full story
Through good and bad times, business leaders merit praise
Old-timers will remember the Beeville described in this week’s 50 Years Ago column. Business leaders were expressing ...
10:00 AM, Wednesday, December 31
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Jul 25 at 06:18 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Thursday, Jul 24 at 05:28 PM »
« mlwkelley wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 07:52 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Sunday, Jul 20 at 06:59 PM »