State worthy performance
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, March 27
When young people win state at anything, it’s a huge accomplishment. Whether in academic or athletic competition, it’s extremely rare for a group of Bee County students to seize a state championship. In Corpus Christi last Friday at the American B...

Latest Editorials

Life’s a blast in autumn
Friday morning was like Christmas for most outdoorsmen and women in and near Bee County. Some residents awoke to the ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 18
full story
New law designed to stop drunk drivers
The solution to this problem is so simple: Just don’t drink and drive. A new Texas law, which took effect Sept. 1, fo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 16
full story
Thankful, concerned and dancing
Some random thoughts while enjoying our current rainy spell which may – may – break our extended drought. We join mem...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 11
full story
Fiesta’s return welcome, ushering in fall season
The weather’s a bit cooler and even an occasional blessed rain has fallen. Fall cannot be far away. The calendar tell...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 09
full story
Reminder: Avoid flu germs
Wildfires are raging across Southern California. A monster hurricane is bearing down on the Baja California coast. Ye...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 02
full story
CBC finds itself a hit; congressman still a miss
Scattershooting ... (with apologies to Blackie Sherrod) while waiting for some fall weather to catch up with the star...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 28
full story
Hinojosa’s cowardice
Saturday morning’s protest by the Tea Party Patriots in front of U.S. Rep. Rubén Hinojosa’s office here came off with...
03:30 PM, Wednesday, August 26
full story
Riding to our rescue
Bee County is suffering through its worst drought in recorded history. The city of Beeville still has an ample supply...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 21
full story
Healthy debate called for
Laughter is the best medicine, people say. Yet, fear and anger seem to be the response of most folks across America w...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 14
full story
Farewell, Dr. Hogue
The announcement that Dr. Grady C. “Sam” Hogue Jr. would be leaving his medical practice at Beeville Family Practice ...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 07
full story
City takes up challenge
Tuesday night’s decision by the City Council to part ways with Ford Patton, longtime city manager, was not unexpected...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 05
full story
In need of a toad-floater and much, much more
Thursday evening’s rain brought some welcomed moisture to many parts of a miserably dry Bee County. Although parts of...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 31
full story
Girl power on display in Beeville
The Beeville Little League Junior all-star girls’ team definitely lived up to their name after reaching the East Texa...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 29
full story
Wrong prescription: Small business puts Congress on notice
Don’t mess with our health care. At least that seems to be the message heard loudly and clearly from many Bee Countia...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 24
full story
Calming, restorative place
Like an oasis in the desert, Lou Adele’s Garden beckons to doctors, staff, patients and visitors at Christus Spohn Ho...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 22
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« OwlLady69 wrote on Saturday, Mar 28 at 06:12 PM »
« rico12 wrote on Wednesday, Mar 25 at 11:28 AM »
« devin's-mom wrote on Tuesday, Mar 24 at 10:22 PM »
« TinaKT wrote on Monday, Mar 23 at 12:11 PM »