Blessing and a curse
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, August 29
As Labor Day nears, some people may think of those working in the Eagle Ford Shale, many of whom are not able to enjoy a holiday weekend. In the last few days, two major articles have caught our eye – again describing the pros and cons of this eco...

Latest Editorials

Valuable lessons offered
Special sale Saturday’s here. The 2009 Bee County Junior Livestock and Homemakers Show is drawing to close at the Bee...
03:00 PM, Friday, February 06
full story
‘Stimulus’ reeks of rancid pork
The headlines around the state and nation touting how much money local governments would receive from the proposed $8...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, February 04
full story
Hello, Dr. Madrid; goodbye to Echevarria
You say goodbye and we say hello. With apologies to the Beatles, Wednesday’s edition reported that Beeville area resi...
02:00 PM, Friday, January 30
full story
Local economy far better than national headlines
If an economy runs on capital, it is lubricated by confidence and trust – even a small local economy. With the daily ...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 23
full story
Day of joy and unity
One could feel the excitement, the electricity in the crowd, as people assembled in the cool morning Monday at the Be...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, January 21
full story
Positive developments abound locally
As the community prepares to celebrate Martin Luther King Day on Monday and the nation prepares to inaugurate a new p...
02:00 PM, Friday, January 16
full story
Hughes, county strike win-win deal with big dividend poten...
Developments this week at the Bee County Commissioners Court and the Bee Development Authority open the door for big ...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, January 14
full story
Sweet surprise for STISD
Another year, another honor. Whether it is for being chosen as a Blue Ribbon School or cited as “exemplary” or “recog...
02:00 PM, Friday, January 09
full story
New vision for highways
According to a story appearing online in the Jan. 6 edition of the Austin American-Statesman, the Trans-Texas Corrido...
12:00 PM, Wednesday, January 07
full story
Through good and bad times, business leaders merit praise
Old-timers will remember the Beeville described in this week’s 50 Years Ago column. Business leaders were expressing ...
10:00 AM, Wednesday, December 31
full story
Navy interest in Chase a good and curious thing
News last week that the U.S. Navy’s Chief of Naval Air Training was interested in using the runways at the Chase Fiel...
01:00 PM, Friday, December 26
full story
Weather raining (and snowing) on global warming’s parade
With several more huge Arctic blasts forecast for the coming week, the first snowfalls in decades in Las Vegas, New O...
01:00 PM, Friday, December 19
full story
A Christmas wish: to serve others
Hooray for the generous, kind-hearted members of this community who came to the aid of their fellow citizens. Last we...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, December 17
full story
Fire danger explodes
Exceptional usually is a word associated with good or outstanding. ...except in the case of a recent San Antonio Expr...
11:38 AM, Wednesday, December 10
full story
Don’t miss your chance; Christmas season upon us
Some 25 floats are ready to roll down Washington Street downtown Saturday night in the third annual Beeville Main Str...
12:00 PM, Friday, December 05
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Aug 23 at 08:33 PM »
« Theresa512 wrote on Friday, Aug 22 at 01:59 AM »
« wwnewsom wrote on Wednesday, Aug 20 at 07:28 AM »
« OwlLady69 wrote on Tuesday, Aug 19 at 04:28 PM »