Don’t need feds’ guidance to tell us where to go
by Chip Latcham
11:23 AM, Friday, May 20
C’mon now, keep the federal government out of our restrooms. If the feds have no business in our bedrooms, then, for heaven’s sake, why should we allow them to bother us in bathrooms. According to a CNN story, Texas Gov. Greg Abbott said Monday th...

Latest Editorials

Fiesta for entire family
Twenty-five years ago, while the community was desperately involved in the fight to try and save NAS Chase Field from...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, September 09
full story
Profession under fire literally, disturbingly
Labor Day weekend is here, and this year our community should resolve to honor and recognize a special brand of publi...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 04
full story
Does BISD need new blood?
Our coverage in the last edition of the Beeville Independent School District trustees’ decision not to hire a consult...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 02
full story
When inanimate objects kill
All lives matter. There, we said it and we mean it. Whether it’s the leaders of a Charleston church, a TV crew in rur...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 28
full story
Sage advice offered before taking wheel
As children head back to school, admonitions to motorists in this community have been duly noted. In our last edition...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 21
full story
Ready to fight for what’s right?
South Texans are preparing for the start of the new school year, and can’t wait for football and cooler weather. In a...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 14
full story
Community must be vigilant to have a prayer
Robbers and thieves are running rampant in this small, rural community. Surprising? Not so much, when one observes th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 12
full story
Learning a lesson in state’s political process
We hate to say we told you so, but... When we heard Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton, whose duties include defending...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 07
full story
Preparing for a knockout
Those who consider themselves lovers, not fighters, should turn the page. However, community members and area visitor...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 05
full story
Life, liberty & happiness hanging in the balance
Another undercover video targeting Planned Parenthood has been released and, like many Americans, we find these revel...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 29
full story
Some flights grounded; others getting airborne
County officials’ hopes for successful usage of our improved aviation-related facilities were grounded by some unfore...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 24
full story
Fun under the lights returns
The dog days of summer have arrived; August is quickly approaching. That means that Texas football fans are counting ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 22
full story
Disturbing role of those in authority positions
Serious allegations against a teacher in the George West school district have been brought to the attention of the sc...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 17
full story
Paths part for time being with Brother Dunn
Let us now praise famous men. James Dunn, 83, died July 4, and considering his love for this country, it was an appro...
08:00 AM, Tuesday, July 14
full story
No offense but history cannot be eradicated
We live in a complicated age. The world’s stock markets collapse as Greece degenerates into chaos and riots while ref...
04:00 PM, Monday, July 13
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« Audreyraes wrote on Saturday, May 21 at 09:31 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, May 20 at 07:35 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, May 18 at 12:57 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, May 17 at 10:29 PM »