The late, great Wednesday edition (or how we got d...
by Jeff Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, September 19
“Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the mouth.” – Mike Tyson, former heavyweight boxing champion Astute readers may have noticed the different sizes of Wednesday’s Bee-Picayune sections. No one had to be particularly astute to notice t...

Latest Editorials

Crime wave heating up
In these dog days of summer, one would think that even criminals would slow down and seek some shade. Yet, in recent ...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, August 14
full story
Coyotes taking advantage
Why are so many illegal immigrants being arrested in this area recently? Is it because of the promised passage of the...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 09
full story
Alternative to summer blahs
It’s early August, with heat advisories and 100-plus-degree temperatures every blessed day. Regardless, football team...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 07
full story
Tough stretch ahead for tropics; get connected now
Now it’s time to get serious. Yes, hurricane season has been under way for almost two months now, but the peak threat...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 26
full story
Driving our economy
Most stories we have read recently continue to remain positive about the Eagle Ford Shale and its impact on this regi...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 24
full story
Seen as a train wreck comin’ from all sides
Politics makes strange bedfellows – and when the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and labor unions agree, our country surely ...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 19
full story
Changes to clinics, ER should benefit everyone
Christus Spohn officials offered some news for Bee Countians this week. “Christus Spohn Hospital Beeville is here to ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 17
full story
Cannons and fireballs
Gettysburg, Pa., has been and continues to be the boisterous and poignant scene of living history events marking the ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 03
full story
Supreme Court ruling will help clean up voter fraud
The U.S. Supreme Court’s decision yesterday on the constitutionality of the Voting Rights Act will no doubt bring cri...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 26
full story
It’s too darn hot
Several things to remember as the summertime heat ensnares South Texans in its unrelenting grasp. As the special weat...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 21
full story
So glad to be out of school
Summer officially begins on Friday, and heat indices are already exceeding 105 degrees. Yet, some Texas school offici...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 19
full story
Another Eagle Ford road fix proposed
Most reports about the Eagle Ford Shale’s impact on this region just keep getting better and better. In this week’s P...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 12
full story
Belated grad advice
Every cover of our newspapers so far this week has featured smiling faces of overjoyed graduates as they are handed t...
09:47 AM, Wednesday, June 12
full story
No brag ...just fact
Why are so many people moving to Texas? Several major news sources have been reporting that five of the top 10 fastes...
03:54 PM, Saturday, June 01
full story
They were soldiers once... and young
Watching the Parade that Never Was file down Washington Street several Saturdays ago, it was hard not to get a lump i...
05:37 PM, Saturday, May 25
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DougPhillips wrote on Sunday, Sep 21 at 09:04 AM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Saturday, Sep 20 at 01:41 AM »
« manning120 wrote on Tuesday, Sep 16 at 06:22 PM »
« bassethoundrule wrote on Sunday, Sep 14 at 09:12 PM »