Don’t need feds’ guidance to tell us where to go
by Chip Latcham
11:23 AM, Friday, May 20
C’mon now, keep the federal government out of our restrooms. If the feds have no business in our bedrooms, then, for heaven’s sake, why should we allow them to bother us in bathrooms. According to a CNN story, Texas Gov. Greg Abbott said Monday th...

Latest Editorials

Flooded with bad news
Fortunately, no local disasters were reported by Bee County authorities following Tuesday night’s tornado warning and...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 27
full story
Patriotism on display
As thousands of displaced people fleeing the violence in Ramadi flooded into Baghdad this week, Americans again are r...
04:00 PM, Friday, May 22
full story
Rain or not, events will go on
Weather experts have determined the drought is over in South Texas, according to several recent reports. Waterlogged ...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 15
full story
Surprise, it’s a judge!
In a moment of “what just happened here?,” the Bee County Commissioners Court emerged from its closed session and una...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 13
full story
Honoring their memory
Although many stories have caused our readers to shake their heads in disbelief or disgust, one published in the last...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 08
full story
Not making much noise
For those who have noticed all the Blue Angels references appearing on this page in recent editions, we have an apt d...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 06
full story
College takes center stage this weekend
While the county’s citizens wait for our commissioners to appoint a new county judge, a prime opportunity has been pr...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 01
full story
Hey, Commissioners, let’s get off high center
It’s now six weeks since County Judge David Silva died, and his calm, rational demeanor has never been so sorely miss...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 29
full story
Texting ban needs to be law
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and Sen. Judith Zaffirini is urging passage of a bill that would ban tex...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 24
full story
Remembering our better Angels
Dodging weekend thunderstorms, air show fans finally were rewarded on Sunday at NAS Corpus Christi when the Navy’s fa...
04:29 PM, Wednesday, April 22
full story
Preservation in store
If April showers bring May flowers, we all should be covered in fields the size of the floats entered in the Tourname...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 15
full story
Good candidate choices for court to consider
A diverse, impressive list of applicants for the vacant position of Bee County judge has been revealed this week. Acc...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 10
full story
Journalists behaving badly
The Columbia Journalism Review’s investigation into Rolling Stone’s inflammatory story of rape at a University of Vir...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 08
full story
It’s deadly out there
Not surprising, but it’s getting more dangerous on our roads and highways. Bee County has been rated “safe” on a scal...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 01
full story
State worthy performance
When young people win state at anything, it’s a huge accomplishment. Whether in academic or athletic competition, it’...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 27
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« Audreyraes wrote on Saturday, May 21 at 09:31 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, May 20 at 07:35 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, May 18 at 12:57 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, May 17 at 10:29 PM »