Spine-tingling setting for ghost stories
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 29
Halloween has an extra special significance this year for some celebrants in the Bee-Live Oak County area. What better setting to hear ghost stories and other Texas tall tales than at the supposedly haunted Historic Oakville Jail that evening! Thi...

Latest Editorials

Seen as a train wreck comin’ from all sides
Politics makes strange bedfellows – and when the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and labor unions agree, our country surely ...
03:00 PM, Friday, July 19
full story
Changes to clinics, ER should benefit everyone
Christus Spohn officials offered some news for Bee Countians this week. “Christus Spohn Hospital Beeville is here to ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 17
full story
Cannons and fireballs
Gettysburg, Pa., has been and continues to be the boisterous and poignant scene of living history events marking the ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, July 03
full story
Supreme Court ruling will help clean up voter fraud
The U.S. Supreme Court’s decision yesterday on the constitutionality of the Voting Rights Act will no doubt bring cri...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 26
full story
It’s too darn hot
Several things to remember as the summertime heat ensnares South Texans in its unrelenting grasp. As the special weat...
03:00 PM, Friday, June 21
full story
So glad to be out of school
Summer officially begins on Friday, and heat indices are already exceeding 105 degrees. Yet, some Texas school offici...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 19
full story
Another Eagle Ford road fix proposed
Most reports about the Eagle Ford Shale’s impact on this region just keep getting better and better. In this week’s P...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, June 12
full story
Belated grad advice
Every cover of our newspapers so far this week has featured smiling faces of overjoyed graduates as they are handed t...
09:47 AM, Wednesday, June 12
full story
No brag ...just fact
Why are so many people moving to Texas? Several major news sources have been reporting that five of the top 10 fastes...
03:54 PM, Saturday, June 01
full story
They were soldiers once... and young
Watching the Parade that Never Was file down Washington Street several Saturdays ago, it was hard not to get a lump i...
05:37 PM, Saturday, May 25
full story
Season for disasters
It seems every day we Americans are greeted by another unimaginable tragedy. Just a week after tornadoes tore across ...
07:34 PM, Wednesday, May 22
full story
Serving up great causes
We realize that Mother’s Day has already passed, but this weekend presents additional opportunities for families to p...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 17
full story
Clock starts now on finding a different water solution
Despite the meager turnout in Saturday’s city elections, congratulations are in order to the two council winners, Geo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 15
full story
Last chance to make splash
Early voting has ended, as of Tuesday, in the City of Beeville’s water bonds election. In fact, only city residents w...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 10
full story
Welcome home, veterans
This community certainly loves a parade. Witness the many people, young and old, who regularly line up along the main...
10:00 AM, Thursday, May 09
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 29 at 06:30 PM »
« Blackcats wrote on Tuesday, Oct 28 at 12:45 AM »
« Blackcats wrote on Tuesday, Oct 28 at 12:19 AM »
« newshound123 wrote on Sunday, Oct 19 at 12:33 PM »