College takes center stage this weekend
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, May 01
While the county’s citizens wait for our commissioners to appoint a new county judge, a prime opportunity has been presented for all of us to honor the memory of the late County Judge David Silva. This year’s Relay for Life will be staged at the o...

Latest Editorials

Primary voting begins
Early voting for the upcoming Democratic and Republican primary elections started Tuesday, Feb. 18, and will continue...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 19
full story
Fatigue raising the stakes on our highways
Happening twice in two weeks is a disturbing trend. Early Tuesday morning, an oil field truck collided with the back ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 12
full story
Finally, a level playing field
For years, Beeville Trojan fans have heard the rumors that we are moving down to a smaller classification. Lower enro...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, February 05
full story
College making big plans for 50th anniversary
Coastal Bend College and its foundation board of directors have ambitious goals for the future. At its first meeting ...
03:05 PM, Friday, January 31
full story
Entering like a bull?
If it’s freezing cold with a wintry mix pelting those who dare venture outside, that can mean only one thing: It’s ti...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 24
full story
Fueling skepticism
The Beeville City Council-Texas Mile situation could be overheating. At first glance, following last week’s council m...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 22
full story
Revisiting Dr. King’s dream
We, as a nation and a community, have made great strides toward racial equality. Although not completely there yet, D...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 17
full story
About to take flight
The sky’s the limit, said those celebrating Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi’s successfully landing its proposal f...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 15
full story
Winning at a shale game
The United States will slip past Saudi Arabia and Russia to become the world’s top oil producer by 2016, according to...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 08
full story
Much prefer a full lake
What a difference a year makes. Last year as December ended, Lake Corpus Christi was at 15.7 percent of capacity. A y...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 01
full story
Two for the road
Still not in the Christmas spirit? For about the last month we have shared opportunities in this region guaranteed to...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 20
full story
Holly jolly gift to city
For those who ventured out in the chilly weather last Saturday, the 2013 Holly Jolly Christmas celebration in downtow...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 18
full story
Waiting on special delivery
The use of drones has taken flight recently. From killing bad guys in Pakistan to delivering packages for Amazon.com,...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 13
full story
Generosity overflows
Like an oasis in the desert, friends came to the assistance of our beleaguered citizens when the water faucets ran dr...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 11
full story
No place like homes for holidays
With the water crisis easing and as winter roars back into town on the winds of an arctic blast, Beeville area reside...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 06
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DubiousForever wrote on Saturday, May 02 at 11:53 AM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Saturday, May 02 at 11:51 AM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Saturday, May 02 at 09:32 AM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Friday, May 01 at 03:38 PM »