Don’t need feds’ guidance to tell us where to go
by Chip Latcham
11:23 AM, Friday, May 20
C’mon now, keep the federal government out of our restrooms. If the feds have no business in our bedrooms, then, for heaven’s sake, why should we allow them to bother us in bathrooms. According to a CNN story, Texas Gov. Greg Abbott said Monday th...

Latest Editorials

Win, place, show
The youths of Bee County, along with their animals, crafts and food entries, again are taking center stage at the Exp...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 28
full story
Spiraling out of control
Did you hear the New England Patriots cheated to reach the Super Bowl? Seriously... that’s what the national media is...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 23
full story
Innovators and educators
Fifty years ago, Bee County Chamber of Commerce leaders were bringing state education officials to Beeville in order ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 21
full story
Good reason to observe MLK Day
After such a turbulent year for race relations across the nation, the need for simple communication has never been st...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 16
full story
Better tighten those belts
Boom and bust. Those working in the oil and gas industry and receiving royalty checks have seen this cycle play out t...
03:00 AM, Wednesday, January 14
full story
Great will be their reward
This community owes an enormous debt of gratitude to Garrett Tindol and Tindol Construction Company. He and his emplo...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 09
full story
Vandalism of cemeteries cannot go unresolved
Last week’s destruction of nearly 100 tombstones and monuments in the Glenwood and St. Joseph’s cemeteries cannot be ...
03:00 PM, Monday, January 05
full story
As a society, we’ve got some improving to do in 2015
Thursday marks the start of the new year, 2015. Old man 2014 was an eventful year for many of our readers; for others...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 31
full story
Protesters way off base
Enough. The New York Post reported that more than 1,000 anti-police protesters defied Mayor Bill de Blasio and floode...
04:00 PM, Friday, December 26
full story
Serving hot meal for Christ
Many area residents already have attended Christmas parties, open houses and concerts. (The live performance by Chris...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 19
full story
Experience joy of giving
As the final countdown to Christmas begins, it does our hearts good to know that more community members, particularly...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 17
full story
Great expectations for winter festival
Fifty years ago, new Christmas street decorations were being hung with care downtown by Central Power & Light Company...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 10
full story
Another form of plague - This ‘spice’ can snuff out young ...
Last weekend’s lead story about five teenagers found unconscious at Flournoy Park’s skate park after smoking syntheti...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 05
full story
Season for joy, sharing
Most are still regrouping from the Thanksgiving feast and family gathering, but Christmas will be upon us before we r...
03:00 PM, Thursday, December 04
full story
Many blessings to share
Thanksgiving takes on a lot of different meanings for different folks this year. First, we give thanks we are not liv...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, November 26
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« Audreyraes wrote on Saturday, May 21 at 09:31 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, May 20 at 07:35 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, May 18 at 12:57 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, May 17 at 10:29 PM »