Lenten message of faith, action
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Friday, February 20
Ash Wednesday marked the beginning of the Lenten season, the 40 days leading up to Easter Sunday for Christians. Some Bee County residents observed Shrove Tuesday with church services and pancake suppers, or turned out in droves to celebrate Mardi...

Latest Editorials

Banks, BDA turn lemons into lemonade
It’s no secret that one of the shortfalls of the laws under which the Bee Development Authority was created is the la...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 14
full story
Celebrate the arts Saturday
Has it really been a decade already? On Saturday, the Beeville Art Museum is celebrating its 10th anniversary, hostin...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 12
full story
Obamacare repeal doesn’t increase deficit
When now-House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D–CA) was sworn in as speaker on Jan. 4, 2007, the national debt stood a...
03:00 PM, Friday, January 07
full story
Dangerously dry
The new year has arrived, and thanks to La Niña, it appears to be starting as a dry one for South Texas. Bee County w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, January 05
full story
Obama driving gas prices up
In 2008, then-Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) “blasted” President George W. Bush for rising gas prices on his (and her) w...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 31
full story
New York state of mind is pretty bleak
Count your lucky stars you don’t live in New York City or the Northeast right now. According to The New York Times, t...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 29
full story
Christmas joy, wonder
As Christmas Day nears, Bee Countians seemingly have many enticing presents waiting under their trees. The Sikorsky w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 22
full story
The British are coming and that’s not a bad thing
The fruits of economic growth are often interesting and unexpected. Such is the proposed development of a British pub...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 17
full story
Serving up another reminder
If you are still not in the Christmas spirit, despite the recent cold mornings and many events already described, fro...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 15
full story
Two more holiday hints
A couple of additional opportunities present themselves for those still trying to get in the Christmas spirit. First,...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 10
full story
Good move for economy
It seems that President Obama cannot win. Fresh on the heels of the general election “shellacking,” he now is getting...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 08
full story
Christmas spirit to blast into city
The Christmas season begins in earnest this weekend. In Beeville, Winter Fest will blow into town and stir up excitem...
03:00 PM, Friday, December 03
full story
Embracing a ten-year window of opportunity
More glad tidings have been received that this community is preparing to experience some really good times, beyond th...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, December 01
full story
A uniquely American tradition
Another Thanksgiving is upon us already as 2010 speeds past like an unstoppable train. As we reflect on our many bles...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, November 24
full story
More positive developments regarding Chase warehouse
Millions of dollars and hundreds of new residents will be the result. The 75 citizens who attended Thursday’s Chamber...
03:00 PM, Friday, November 19
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« davidspandau wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 11:14 AM »
« Perezuaw wrote on Friday, Feb 27 at 10:51 AM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Thursday, Feb 26 at 09:59 PM »
« CrowdSource wrote on Thursday, Feb 26 at 08:37 PM »