Spine-tingling setting for ghost stories
by Chip Latcham
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 29
Halloween has an extra special significance this year for some celebrants in the Bee-Live Oak County area. What better setting to hear ghost stories and other Texas tall tales than at the supposedly haunted Historic Oakville Jail that evening! Thi...

Latest Editorials

Taking back neighborhoods
In San Antonio, Corpus Christi and all across the U.S., thousands of citizens turned out Tuesday evening, joining tog...
03:20 PM, Friday, October 08
full story
Polls indicate no traditional ‘gimmes’
With Election Day now under four weeks away and closing quickly, there’s certainly no avoiding it whether watching te...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 06
full story
Monday’s last chance to register to vote
A political tsunami appears to be building across America. In the New York Times Thursday, headlines blare: “Democrat...
04:00 PM, Friday, October 01
full story
Vets deserving of stadium monument
If a tribute was ever well deserved, not to mention five years overdue, it’s to the military veterans of this communi...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 24
full story
News flash: Evil wins
Intimidated into submission, the leading newspaper in Juarez raised the white flag. Sunday was a truly sad day for jo...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 22
full story
Protect yourself online
You too may be a publisher and not even realize it. And that could be a problem. In our new mega-connected world of T...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 17
full story
Like spraying your garden with herbicide and then wonderin...
The Washington Post carried a story last week with the headline: “Small businesses feel squeezed by Obama policies.” ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 15
full story
Respect both observances
Bee Countians have a rare opportunity this weekend to observe both the ninth anniversary of 9-11 and the Diez y Seis ...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 10
full story
Apparently weather doesn’t take a holiday
What a strange start to this short week in what has been a strange weather year. At the conclusion of the Labor Day w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 08
full story
Feeling taxpayers’ pain
Unlike elected officials in other parts of the country, such as California and Washington, D.C., it appears as though...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 03
full story
EPA slams on the brakes
Rarely does an issue stemming from Washington, D.C., resolve itself in a matter of days but that happened last week. ...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 01
full story
EPA has Texans in its sights
If Texans don’t know it yet, they’ll figure out pretty quickly that the Obama administration has taken direct aim at ...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 27
full story
Use sense around campus
Just a gentle reminder to area motorists that schools are back in session. Please slow down and be careful to watch f...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 25
full story
Living with uranium
Uranium exploration in South Texas is nothing new with open pit mining starting up some half a century ago. The eleme...
03:00 PM, Friday, August 20
full story
Shop friendly, locally
While many South Texans are surviving the late summer heat and wishing for the first cold front’s arrival, some are p...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, August 18
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DifferentView2 wrote on Thursday, Oct 30 at 09:07 PM »
« ms.rosegonzales wrote on Thursday, Oct 30 at 08:30 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 29 at 06:30 PM »
« Blackcats wrote on Tuesday, Oct 28 at 12:45 AM »