George West ISD hires three new teachers
by Progress Staff
01:00 PM, Sunday, May 08
GEORGE WEST – Three new teachers will join the staff roster at the George West Independent School District following action by the school board at its April 27 meeting. Superintendent Ty Sparks said afterward that the following employees were appr...

Latest Education Headlines

Youngsters go for gold in 53rd Little Olympics
GEORGE WEST – In George West, there is a tradition that stands generations — three, at least. Little Olympics has bee...
01:00 PM, Saturday, May 07
full story
Teacher houses to cost $726K
THREE RIVERS – It will cost an estimated $726,218 to build three rental homes to be occupied by Three Rivers Independ...
09:00 AM, Wednesday, May 04
full story
New GWHS gym begins to take shape
GEORGE WEST – The third phase of the George West Independent School District’s (ISD) nearly $18.5 million capital imp...
01:00 PM, Tuesday, May 03
full story
School leader making plans to improve elementary
THREE RIVERS – “I’m a small school person. I’m a big believer in small schools and what they can do for children,” sa...
09:00 AM, Saturday, April 30
full story
GW FCCLA attends state conference in Dallas
DALLAS – Twelve George West FCCLA chapter members attended the state FCCLA conference in Dallas April 6-9. Mollee Her...
01:00 PM, Tuesday, April 26
full story
TR FCCLA students compete at state conference
DALLAS – Three Rivers FCCLA had 11 of its members travel to Dallas for the State FCCLA Conference April 7-9. These me...
01:00 PM, Saturday, April 23
full story
Three GWJH track teams win district crowns
The George West Yearlings seventh- and eighth-grade track teams competed in the district meet recently. The seventh g...
09:00 AM, Tuesday, April 19
full story
Deadline approaches for youth opportunity
GEORGE WEST – Interested in college scholarships? Want to learn and get a head start on the next phase of your life? ...
09:00 AM, Wednesday, April 13
full story
Aggies unite for distinctive tradition
Former students and friends of Texas A&M University will assemble in George West on April 21 for the annual Texas Agg...
01:00 PM, Monday, April 11
full story
Longhorns baseball team defeats Skidmore 11-2
The Longhorn baseball team defeated the Skidmore-Tynan Bobcats by a score 11-2 on Tuesday, March 29. Matt Ellett was ...
01:00 PM, Saturday, April 09
full story
Spurring Energy Education Day draws 1,000 students
SAN ANTONIO – The South Texas Energy & Economic Roundtable (STEER) partnered with the San Antonio Spurs, HOLT CAT and...
01:00 PM, Saturday, April 09
full story
GWISD earns Honor Roll title
George West ISD Superintendent Ty Sparks announced recently that both George West Primary and George West Junior High...
09:00 AM, Saturday, April 09
full story
Family counseling provided at STCH Ministries
BEEVILLE – Our vision at South Texas Children’s Home Ministries is to show the love of Christ to each and every child...
08:00 AM, Friday, April 08
full story
GWJH youths earn second place in district UIL meet
George West Junior High and sixth-grade students placed second in the District UIL Meet held recently. Twenty-three s...
12:05 PM, Friday, March 18
full story
Goodie Box offers $400 scholarships to area students
The Goodie Box membership is again excited to announce that the 2016 scholarship amount will be $400 per student. Thi...
12:06 PM, Thursday, March 17
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« Audreyraes wrote on Saturday, May 21 at 09:31 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, May 20 at 07:35 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Wednesday, May 18 at 12:57 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, May 17 at 10:29 PM »