Post offices saved from closure
by Bee-Picayune staff
May 14, 2012 | 1393 views | 0 0 comments | 11 11 recommendations | email to a friend | print
For 14 area post offices there is both good and bad news.

The U.S. Postal Service has announced that numerous rural stations scheduled to be closed will remain open.

However, hours at the stations will be drastically curtailed.

The stations and their new hours of operation are:

Austwell, four hours; Bayside, four hours; Berclair, two hours; Hobson, two hours; Normanna, four hours; Panna Maria, two hours; Pawnee, four hours; Pettus, four hours; Runge, six hours; Skidmore, six hours; Tivoli, four hours; Tuleta, four hours; Tynan, four hours; and Whitsett, four hours.

“This is the responsible and right thing to do for all our postal workers and our rural residents,” says U.S. Rep. Rubén Hinojosa of the Texas 15th Congressional District — where 20 of the district’s 29 post offices were affected.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet