Regular voting’s Saturday in city, school, college elections
May 07, 2014 | 305 views | 0 0 comments | 18 18 recommendations | email to a friend | print
BEEVILLE – Early voting ended Tuesday, and those wishing to cast their ballots will have to do so now on Saturday in the city, school district and college elections.

As of Wednesday morning, Coastal Bend College officials reported 1,142 voters had marked early ballots in person in the CBC trustee election at the Beasley Administration Building.

Those votes do not include early mailed-in ballots.

The May 10 election has taken on more importance than usual because three trustee races are contested.

Jeff Massengill, former CBC instructor, is hoping to unseat board President Paul Jaure.

Tiele Dockens, an accounting student, is opposing Trustee Martha Warner.

A.C. Jones High School Principal DeeDee Bernal is running against Trustee Louise Hall.

Election day is May 10. Voting locations are:

• Precincts 1, 3, 9, 10, 13, 16, 17, 18 and 19 at Coastal Bend College in the Frank Jostes Visual Arts Building.

• Precincts 2 and 11 at Pawnee ISD library at 6229 Farm-to-Market Road 798 in Pawnee.

• Precincts 5, 8 and 12 at the Pettus ISD administrative office in the board room at 500 N. May St. in Pettus.

• Precincts 4, 6 and 14 at Skidmore-Tynan ISD in the administrative office board room at 224 W. Main St. in Skidmore.

BISD school board

Only voters in Beeville ISD’s Sub-District I will decide the lone contested race between incumbent Matt Huie and challenger Eddie Salazar.

By Tuesday afternoon, 574 early votes had been cast in person at A.C. Jones High School.

In addition, a total of 342 early ballots had been mailed out in that BISD race. No more mail-in ballots are being accepted.

Regular voting will be in the JHS atrium Saturday from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

City election

At City Hall, as of Monday afternoon, 76 early votes had been cast in Ward 4 and 38 votes in Ward 3, all by personal appearance.

In Ward 3, Benjamin Ray “Benny” Puente Jr. is facing Mayor David Carabajal. In Ward 4, two newcomers, Yvonne Dunn and Domingo V. Salinas, are the candidates.

Voting in Ward 3 Saturday will be at the Police Training Center at 708 W. Milam St. Ward 4 voting is at R.A. Hall Elementary School at 1100 W. Huntington St.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet