4-H Award Banquet highlights year’s achievements
Aug 31, 2011 | 3201 views | 0 0 comments | 17 17 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Anthony McGuill and Reagan Ruddock receive 4-H Outstanding Intermediate Awards.
view slideshow (4 images)
Approximately 70 4-H members and their families attended the annual 4-H Awards Banquet at the Refugio County Expo Center Aug. 7.

The annual 4-H Awards Banquet is sponsored by the 4-H Booster Club. This year’s theme was “Welcome To The Future.”

The highlight of each year’s banquet is the naming of the 4-H Gold Star award winners and the Friend of 4-H. The Gold Star Award is the highest honor presented to a 4-H’er at the county level , and is the culmination of their years of 4-H project work, citizenship, leadership, and community service. This year’s Gold Star recipients were Lacie Beall and Cecilia Bauer.

The Friend of 4-H award is presented to the individual or group who contribute their time to the 4-H program over a lengthy period of time. Lavonne Rathkamp was named the 2011 Friend of 4-H. She has contributed more than 12 years of support to the 4-H program in Refugio County while her children were involved in 4-H, and has returned as a horse project leader for the Roughriders 4-H Club in Tivoli.

Rathkamp also serves on the Refugio County Area Go Texan Committee, in which she contributes countless hours to helping secure the Go Texan scholarship for the youth in the county.

In addition, 4-H members can apply for and go through an interview process for other honors and awards.

Cecilia Bauer was named the Refugio County 4-H Queen.

The Outstanding Intermediate Awards were presented to Anthony McGuill and Reagan Ruddock.

The I Dare You Awards were presented to Lacie Beall and Cecilia Bauer.

The 4-H Jacket Awards were awarded to Joseph Montemayor, McKayla Ramos, Katelin Ruddock, and Reagan Ruddock.

Sean Ponce was awarded the Ed Stratmann Award in honor of his service and commitment to 4-H.

Shelby Bellows, president of the 4-H County Council, presided as master of ceremonies. Beth Henning, District 11 4-H Chairman, was the guest speaker. Henning spoke about the variety of opportunities that 4-H has to offer, and challenged all 4-H members to seek out and take part in these opportunities that will help shape them as future leaders.

Shelby Bellows and H.C. Neel presented gifts to club managers, Melody Payne of Bonnie View, Kellie Beall of Blanconia, Donnie Montemayor of Mission, Katrina Bellows of Brushpoppers, and Angie Ruddock of Roughriders.

Logan Myers and Morgan Klaevemann announced the achievement awards, which were presented to seniors Lacie Beall, Cecilia Bauer, Morgan Klaevemann, Dalton Klare, Kasye McCool and McKayla Ramos; intermediates Anthony McGuill, H.C. Neel, and Derek Ressmann; Juniors Joseph Montemayor, Kodye Neel and Ti Beall.

The presentation of the project and year pins was made by Lacie Beall and Reagan Ruddock. Project and year pins were presented to:

Beef: Abbey Hicks, Peyton Levien, Kasye McCool, H.C. Neel, Kodye Neel, Reagan Ruddock; Clothing & Textiles: Mikey Misener; Food & Nutrition: Marissa Garcia, Katelin Ruddock, Morgan Simmons, Allie Upton; Goat: Ti Beall, Courtney Myers, McKenzie Simmons, Megan Simmons; Horse: Lacie Beall; Plants & Animals Open: Trey Upton; Poultry: Morgan Klaevemann, Dalton Klare, Logan Myers; Rabbit: Cecilia Bauer, Miranda Farias, Summer Hesseltine, Colten Hesseltine, Cristopher Payne, Cameron Sternadel, Ryan Williams, Tyler Williams; Science & Technology Open: Tony Misener; Sheep: McKayla Ramos; Shooting Sports: Anthony McGuill; Swine: Quentin Bellows, Shelby Bellows, Taylor Bellows, Alexa Montemayor, Joseph Montemayor, Madalynn Nixon, Taylor Nixon, Conner Payne, Derek Ressmann, Danielle Varella.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet