Awards ceremony at Moreno School honors top students
Jun 03, 2011 | 2273 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Receiving plaques for earning straight A’s all three years while at MMS and the Presidential Award are, from left, Emily Lehmberg, Parker Roberson, Principal Jean Blankenship, Sydnie Maguire and Sara Casas.
view image
Moreno Middle School held its awards assembly on Friday, May 27.

While there were many awards given, the highest awards are given in the last year students attend MMS. The two highest honors one can receive in eighth grade are the plaque for earning straight A’s for all three years and the Presidential Award.

Receiving plaques for earning straight A’s all three years while at Moreno Middle School and the prestigious Presidential Award were Sara Casas, Emily Lehmberg, Sydnie Maguire and Parker Roberson.

These are the four left standing, earning straight A’s while taking all Pre AP courses plus high school Algebra I and high school Spanish I. Casas, Maguire and Roberson earned commended status on all four of their TAKS scores. Lehmberg earned perfect scores on her English and social studies TAKS.

Principal Jean Blankenship told the eighth-grade class, “Here sits the future leaders of your class.”

The purpose of this award is to recognize academic success in the classroom. To be eligible for the Presidential Award for Education Excellence, students must meet certain requirements. A student must have a GPA of 90 or above and meet one of the following: Recommendation from a teacher plus one other staff member from the school. One recommendation is to reflect outstanding achievement in English, math, science, history, geography, art, foreign language and/or any other course that reflect a schools core curriculum.

This judgment is to be supported by tangible evidence that is comprised of either results on teacher made tests, portfolio assessments, or special projects. The second recommendation from a school staff member may address, for example: involvement in community service or co-curriculum activities including tutoring other students and/or demonstration of creativity and achievement in the visual and performing arts. The school principal has the final authority to determine which student receives this award.

Cameron Kremers, Loren Flores and Lindsey Lawson were also recipients of the Presidential Award.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet