Baiamonte chosen as vice chairman on SARA board
Jan 06, 2014 | 285 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
SAN ANTONIO – Goliad City Attorney Terry Baiamonte was named vice chairman of the San Antonio River Authority Board of Directors at its Dec. 18 meeting.

Baiamonte was also named the communications committee chairman.

Baiamonte, who handed in her resignation as city attorney effective Jan. 31, was approved along with new board chairman Sally Buchanan, who represents Bexar County at-large. Buchanan is replacing outgoing chairman, Gaylon Oehlke of Karnes County.

SARA’s Board of Directors’ executive committee is also comprised of Hector Morales (Bexar County at-large) and Oehlke, respectively, for the positions of secretary and treasurer. Darrell Brownlow (Wilson County) and Tom Weaver (Bexar County District 4) also join the executive committee as the at-large members.

Other board committee leadership appointments approved on Dec. 18 included Michael W. Lackey, P.E. (Bexar County District 3), operations committee chairman; and Oehlke, fiscal committee chairman.

SARA is governed by a 12-member board of directors. The board consists of two at-large members from each of Wilson, Karnes and Goliad counties, plus two at-large members for Bexar County and one member for each of four SARA Districts in Bexar County, for a total of six members representing Bexar County.

The SARA Districts in Bexar County correspond to Bexar County Commissioner precincts. All board terms are for a period of six years, and there are no term limits. All positions are elected except in the case of vacancy prior to term end, in which case the Governor of the State of Texas appoints a replacement to complete the term. Elections for SARA board members are staggered and held every two years (November of odd years).
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet