Candidates file for city, school board elections
by Bain Serna
Mar 13, 2014 | 178 views | 0 0 comments | 19 19 recommendations | email to a friend | print
KARNES COUNTY – Candidates for city and school board elections have now been established for the cities of Kenedy, Karnes City, Falls City, and Runge for upcoming elections on May 10. Early voting has been designated for the weekdays that run from April 28 through May 6.

Kenedy ISD Board of Trustee elections will be for District 2, currently held by incumbent Demetrio Garcia; and also District 3, currently held by Alma Danmier. Garcia will retain his seat as he will be unopposed. Running against incumbent Danmier for the District 3 seat will be Robert Trevino.

The Kenedy city elections will be for the positions of mayor and two council seats held by incumbents Mayor Randy Garza and councilmen Felipe Leal of District 2, along with H.J. Kolinek of District 4. Running against Garza for the mayor seat will be Alberto Hernandez-Baldarramos. Leal and Kolinek will retain their council seats as they are unopposed.

The Karnes City ISD Board of Trustee positions up for election are Place 3, held by incumbent James Adams (school board president); Place 5, held by incumbent Trini Gamez; Place 7, held by Marisa Beaver; and an unexpired term for Place 2, currently held by Julie Braun.

The term for the unexpired seat of Place 2 runs from May, 2012 through May, 2016. Braun was appointed by the board to fill it when it was vacated July of 2012. Braun will retain the unexpired seat as she is unopposed.

Running against incumbent James Adams will be Dr. Scott Kimble for the Place 3 seat. Running against incumbent Marisa Beaver will be Michael W. Crow for the Place 7 seat. Trini Gamez will retain his Place 5 seat as he is unopposed.

The Karnes City city elections are for the position mayor and two council seats. Mayor Leroy T. Skloss will run against Catherine J. Passmore for the mayor seat. Incumbent Councilman Jimmy D. Loya, Sr. of District 5 and incumbent Councilwoman Lillian Lyssy of District 1 will retain their council seats as they are unopposed.

The Falls City ISD Board of Trustee positions held by incumbents Alfie Kowalik, Jerry Jendrusch and Marlin Moczygemba are up for election. All three incumbents along with Dottie Kowalik will be running in the “at large” election, with the top three candidates getting the most votes winning the three council seats.

The Falls City city elections would have been for the positions of mayor and four council seats. Incumbent Mayor Brent Houdmann, incumbent councilmen Steven Swierc and Andrew Wiatrek, along with Aaron Wiatrek and Corey Albert have filed to run. The elections will be formally canceled due to all those who have filed will be running unopposed.

The Runge ISD Board of Trustee elections will be for Place 2, currently held by incumbent Oscar Caballero; and Place 3, currently held be incumbent Conrad Villarreal. Shirley Janssen will be running against Caballero for the Place 2 seat. Timothy Schryver and Jessica Rios have filed to run against Villarreal for the seat of Place 3.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet