County 4-H’ers recognized for achievements at banquet
Aug 29, 2012 | 1448 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
County 4-H’ers recognized for achievements at banquet
Image 1 / 13
The Texas Extension Educators Scholarship was awarded to Megan Gaitan (right) and presented by Patricia Edwards, Extension Educators Association representative.
Bee County 4-H members were recognized recently for their hard work and dedication at the annual Achievement Banquet held at the Bee County Expo Center. The theme for this year’s banquet was “Spotlight on 4-H,” with each table decorated commemorating a different 4-H project.

“The 4-H Banquet is the highlight event for 4-H members across the nation,” said Matt Bochat, Bee County Extension agent. “This event commends and recognizes members and leaders on accomplishments. It’s an event I look forward to planning all year. I am proud of all the winners this year!”

Committee members Jody Brown, Becky Daughtry, Megan Gaitan, Candance Kovar, Ester McFall, Patricia Rutkowski, Cynthia Tapia and Krystal Whitlow planned the event, and Christy Lansford, wife of Dr. T.R. Lansford, Texas Animal Health Commission veterinarian and brand new Coastal Bend College Foundation executive director, was the program speaker. She discussed how the 4-H program has successfully impacted her life.

4-H Council officers and managers were recognized along with Clover Kids and Record Book winners. Bobby Clark was presented with the 2012 Friend of 4-H Award for his long-standing support and commitment to Bee County 4-H members. Becky Daughtry, Bee Kountry Kids 4-H Club manager, was awarded Outstanding Female 4-H Leader. Austin Brown III, Shooting Sports 4-H Club manager, received the Outstanding Male 4-H Leader.

Incentive Award winners included: Cuatro Schauer, Agricultural Science; Mathieu Mortensen, Foods & Nutrition; Whitlee Whitlow, Goat; Megan Gaitan, Rabbit; Sarah McFall, Sheep; Austin Brown IV, Horse; and Wyatt Daughtry, Traveling Trophy (Science & Technology). The Bee Kountry Kids 4-H Club was the winner of the Record Book Award.

The Rising Star Award (first-year member) was given to Matthew McFall. Bronze Star Award (junior members age 8-10) winners included Kayla Rutkowski and Bethany Keener. The Silver Star Award (intermediate member age 11-13) winners were Whitlee Whitlow and Wyatt Daughtry. Megan Gaitan was the winner of the Texas Extension Educators Scholarship in the amount of $250. Cuatro Schauer was awarded the Mildred Rader Memorial Scholarship also for $250. The Danforth “I Dare You” Leadership Award went to Zach Mortensen.

County Commissioners Dennis Dewitt and Kenneth Haggard presented the Gold Star Awards. The Gold Star Award is the highest and most prestigious award in the 4-H Program. Emily Head and Zach Mortensen were winners of the 2012 Gold Star Awards for Bee County 4-H.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet