Their passion for the Christ
by Scott Reese Willey
Apr 09, 2009 | 744 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Three crosses now stand in the front lawn of Parkview Adult Health Care and Activity Center in preparation of Friday’s performance of the 14 Stations of the Cross.
view slideshow (2 images)
Senior citizens at Parkview Adult Day Care in Beeville will act out the 14 Stations of the Cross on Friday.

The event begins at 10 a.m. at the facility, located at 501 E. Bowie St.

Father Luke of Our Lady of Victory Catholic Church will narrate the 30-minute performance.

All 14 Stations will be performed within several feet of each other so little or no walking is needed on the part of spectators or the actors.

The Stations of the Cross depicts the final hours of Jesus, and the devotion commemorating the Passion.

Althought the re-enactment may be done at any time, it is most commonly done during the Season of Lent, especially on Good Friday and on Friday evenings during Lent.

Here are the 14 stations:

1. Jesus is condemned to death. 2. Jesus is given his cross. 3. Jesus falls the first time. 4. Jesus meets His Mother. 5. Simon of Cyrene carries the cross. 6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus. 7. Jesus falls the second time. 8. Jesus meets the daughters of Jerusalem. 9. Jesus falls the third time. 10. Jesus is stripped of His garments. 11. Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross. 12. Jesus dies on the cross. 13. Jesus’ body is removed from the cross (Deposition or Lamentation). 14. Jesus is laid in the tomb and covered in incense.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet