CBC Cougars garner accolades
by Bruce Harper
May 05, 2013 | 1831 views | 0 0 comments | 11 11 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Coastal Bend College Athletic Coordinator Estevan Vasquez opens the Spring Sports Banquet for the Cougars last Thursday night.
Coastal Bend College Athletic Coordinator Estevan Vasquez opens the Spring Sports Banquet for the Cougars last Thursday night.
BEEVILLE – The Coastal Bend College Athletic Department held its annual spring banquet on April 25 and several athletes earned honors.

The student/athletes at CBC have all done well this academic year.

“This year, we will have over 10 student athletes, all sophomores, graduating with a degree from CBC – six student/athletes this May and four more after the summer sessions,” said athletic coordinator Estevan Vasques.

“This is the most we have had in the last five years that will be graduating. “

The majority of the group of graduating students were also committed two years to the athletic program at CBC. They achieved their degrees despite long road trips and time away from the campus competing for the Cougars.

“We are very proud of our graduating class 2013 and wish them the very best in their academic endeavors,” Vasquez said.

Two students were nominated to become members of the NJCAA All-Academic Team: basketball player Connor Lewis with a 3.97 GPA and Amy Macias with a 3.88 GPA. Both have been accepted at a four-year university to complete their degree plans.

In softball, coach Frank Morón and staff presented Macias with the Defensive Player of the Year award, and freshman Briana Sandoval earned the Offensive Player of the Year commendation. The team’s Most Valuable Player award went to infielder Kelsi Salziger. Coach Morón presented two players with the Heart Award. Sophomore JJ Hernandez and freshman Alyssa Smith were co-honorees.

Head basketball coach Larry Mendez also announced a few postseason accolades won by his charges this year. The Cougars made the Region XIV tournament for the second year in a row, a first for the Cougars. La’Darrien Williams was named to the second All South Conference team for Region XIV while teammate Brandon Golden was selected to the third team. Derrick Little earned honorable mention status for his play this year for the Cougars. Connor Lewis was selected as the Athletic Scholar of the squad.

Also of note, Williams recently signed to continue his education and basketball career at Abilene Christian University next year. He is the first Cougar player to sign with a Division I school in CBC history.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet