DKG chapter initiates new members
Dec 14, 2012 | 1098 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Gamma Omicron Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International welcomed two new members Friday night, Dec. 1.

The sanctuary of Good Shepherd Lutheran Church in Kenedy was the setting as Linda Gamez Hall, escorted by her mother, Laura Gamez, and Jennifer Azopardi, escorted by Pam Burge, were initiated into the organization. Prior to the ceremony, Mark Witte played a selection of beautiful Christmas carols. Holly Polasek, ceremonies chairman, conducted the initiation. Following the initiation, members and guests adjourned to the fellowship hall for a meal and program.

Gamma Omicron President Lana Massengale welcomed members and their guests to the meeting. Guests included Azopardi’s husband, Lee, and their children, Ben and Savannah; Randy Meadows, husband of member Marie; Julie Schievelbein; Jennelle Guettler; Pastor Wally Schievelbein of Good Shepherd Lutheran; and Tobe Ricks, who would later present the evening’s program. Kathy Morgan offered the chapter collect, and the members gave the response before a catered meal from Polak’s was served. Members and guests were seated at tables festively decorated for the Christmas season.

A short business meeting was conducted following the meal. Gretchen Dupnik led members in the pledge to the American flag, and Erie Head recognized members with December and January birthdays. In reviewing the treasurer’s report, it was noted nearly $2,000 was raised at last month’s auction. These funds provide book grants and grants-in-aid to young women going into the educational field.

When the business of the chapter concluded, a special program of Christmas music was presented by Pastor Schievelbein and Ricks. Members enjoyed joining in on some numbers and appreciated listening to the harmony of Pastor Schievelbein and Ricks on others.

At the end of the evening, all joined together to sing the Delta Kappa Gamma song. DKG promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

Attending from Beeville were Massengale, Head, Pam Jeanes, Evelyn Jeanes, Betty Thornton, Betty Bleeker, Doris Kuhnert, Falba Jo Roberts, Frieda Hartzendorf, Myrtle Lucke and Meadows. In attendance from Karnes City and Kenedy were Gretchen Dupnik, Susie Kotara, Jennifer Gonzales, Kathy Morgan, Sabrina Lewallen, Debbie Witte, Gamez, Polasek, Jan Anderson, Frances Eckols, Burge, Pam Kerlick and Linda Vegh.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet