Longhorns end skid with 55-0 rout of Bengals
02:00 PM, Wednesday, October 15
By Mandy Whitaker Special to The Progress GEORGE WEST — The George West Longhorns stomped the Brooks Academy Bengals 55-0 Friday — ending a four-game skid. “It’s our first district and it’s a big win,” said Longhorns coach Jay Newberry. “This sets...

Latest Sports Headlines

Longhorn hardball opens season 3-0
The George West Varsity baseball opened the season with three straight wins. In the opener, the Longhorns traveled to...
12:00 PM, Thursday, March 01
full story
GW Longhorns Junior Varsity basketball finished season fou...
On Tuesday, Feb. 14, the George West Longhorns JV lost to Poth 55 to 41. Leading the Longhorn JV in scoring was Noah ...
12:15 PM, Wednesday, February 22
full story
Making the team
Three Rivers High School Bulldog Kaleb Gee has been named to the 2nd Team All State Football Team as an Outside Lineb...
12:00 PM, Sunday, February 19
full story
McMullen County Cowboys, Cowgirls take to the court
The McMullen County Cowgirls had a good week of basketball as they defeated VCA out of Victoria and Junction. In the ...
12:00 PM, Sunday, February 19
full story
Three Rivers High School drops to 1A
With University Interscholastic League realignment announced today, Three Rivers High School dropped to 1A. The cutof...
03:06 PM, Thursday, February 02
full story
George West’s Lady Horns 3rd in district
The George West Lady Horns are sitting third after a long first round of district play. Leading the District 30-2A is...
12:00 PM, Thursday, February 02
full story
Jr. high Bulldogs tourney runners-up
The Three Rivers 7th and 8th grade Bulldogs took runner-up honors at this past weekend’s annual Bulldog Junior High T...
12:05 PM, Tuesday, January 24
full story
Eighth-grade Longhorns winners
The George West 8th grade boys captured first place at the Three Rivers Tournament this past weekend. In the first ga...
12:00 PM, Monday, January 23
full story
JV Longhorns earn two wins
On Tuesday, Jan. 3, the George West Longhorns JV beat Natalia on the road 33 to 29. Leading the Longhorn JV in scorin...
12:00 PM, Monday, January 23
full story
McMullen boys, girls notch victories
The McMullen County Cowgirls and Cowboys had a good week of basketball as they captured two home wins this past week....
12:15 PM, Sunday, January 22
full story
Three Rivers 7th-, 8th-graders playing
The Three Rivers eighth grade team started off the new year with a road victory over the Dilley Wolves last Thurs., 3...
12:00 PM, Tuesday, January 17
full story
Cowboys lose to San Perlita
The Cowboys suffered their first district loss this past Friday, losing to San Perlita by a score of 63-40. The Troja...
12:00 PM, Sunday, January 15
full story
Lady Horns topple McMullen
The George West Lady Horns rise to the occasion after a slow start against the McMullen Cowgirls on Tues., Dec. 27. I...
12:00 PM, Sunday, January 15
full story
Longhorns drop one to Karnes City, drop bomb on TR
The Longhorns had a break-even week last week as they dropped a district game to Karnes City on Tuesday by the score ...
12:00 PM, Saturday, January 14
full story
McMullen County Cowgirls continue winning season
The McMullen County Cowgirls picked up two wins last week defeating Charlotte 56-49 and Port Aransas 31-30. In the Ch...
12:15 PM, Saturday, December 31
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« newshound123 wrote on Sunday, Oct 19 at 12:33 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Oct 10 at 05:53 PM »
« Sandys141 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 08 at 10:05 AM »
« Beeville wrote on Friday, Oct 03 at 09:07 PM »