Nixon-Smiley stuns Woodsboro in season opener
by By Henry Balderamas Special to the County Press
10:00 AM, Friday, September 12
NIXON – The Nixon-Smiley Mustangs used a time consuming running game to keep the Eagle offense off the field and stunned the Eagles 28-7 in the season opener for both teams. “We made some mistakes that cost us, but they are definitely fixable,” sa...

Latest Sports Headlines

Herring selected 2A coach of the year
REFUGIO — Refugio ISD Athletic Director Jason Herring was named 2A coach of the year by Lone Star Gridiron last week....
02:50 PM, Saturday, February 25
full story
Quintanilla #8 prospect
REFUGIO – Sophomore pitcher Travis Quintanilla was selected as the 8th in the top 10 baseball prospects for 2014. Mor...
02:47 PM, Friday, February 24
full story
Lady Cats battle Bishop Badgers in close game
REFUGIO — Tuesday night the Bishop Lady Badgers paid a visit to the Bobcat gym to take on the Refugio Lady Cats. Afte...
04:13 PM, Thursday, February 02
full story
Bobcats head up TSWA 2A All-State selections
REFUGIO — Sophomore quarterback Travis Quintanilla and defensive lineman Donald Trevino made the record books again. ...
02:05 PM, Thursday, February 02
full story
7th grade Lady Cats squash Skidmore Cats
SKIDMORE – The Refugio middle school basketball team traveled to Skidmore Monday night for the battle of the Lady Cat...
02:29 PM, Monday, January 30
full story
Jr. High Lady Cats trample Lady ’Hounds
TAFT – Hitting the road once again, the junior high Lady Cats traveled to Taft to hit the hardwood and brought home d...
02:28 PM, Sunday, January 29
full story
Lady Cats unleash fury over Taft Greyhounds
REFUGIO — The Refugio Lady Cats awakened their tenacity Tuesday night to down the Taft Lady Greyhounds, 27-22, in dis...
02:20 PM, Saturday, January 28
full story
Quintanilla, Whetsel selected to All-Stars
CORPUS CHRISTI — Refugio High School sophomore Travis Quintanilla and senior Shiloh Whetsel were selected to the 2012...
02:28 PM, Friday, January 27
full story
Canchola trains with 4-time Olympian
AUSTIN — Izac Canchola of Refugio trained with four-time Olympian Amy Acuff during a high-jump clinic in Austin on Ja...
02:13 PM, Friday, January 27
full story
Greyhounds bash Bobcats
REFUGIO – The Taft Greyhounds came to Refugio Tuesday night with an undefeated 5-0 district record and added one more...
02:16 PM, Thursday, January 26
full story
Little League sets registration dates
WOODSBORO _ Woodsboro Little League will hold three softball/baseball registrations and one late registration. Regist...
11:52 AM, Monday, January 23
full story
S-T Lady Cats edge Refugio girls
SKIDMORE – The Refugio Ladycats made a game of it on Friday night, late in the fourth quarter, but the host varsity g...
02:46 PM, Sunday, January 22
full story
Bobcats overrun Odem Owls
The Refugio Bobcats hung on to win another district basketball game in overtime, 63-61, at home on Tuesday, Jan. 10. ...
02:47 PM, Saturday, January 21
full story
Bobcat stars named MaxPreps All-American
REFUGIO — Three Bobcat all-state players were named to the second team of the MaxPreps U.S. Air Force Small Schools A...
02:26 PM, Thursday, January 19
full story
Whetsel’s sprint elected ‘2011 Play of the Year’
CORPUS CHRISTI — All-state running back Shiloh Whetsel’s scamper for a touchdown during the Premont game was selected...
02:32 PM, Wednesday, January 18
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« manning120 wrote on Tuesday, Sep 16 at 06:22 PM »
« bassethoundrule wrote on Sunday, Sep 14 at 09:12 PM »
« Homefree77 wrote on Saturday, Sep 13 at 12:48 PM »
« Sarah27 wrote on Saturday, Sep 06 at 07:33 AM »