Penalties, fumbles prove costly in Eagles loss to ...
by By Henry Balderamas Special to the County Press
10:00 AM, Friday, October 17
WOODSBORO – Two fumbles and uncharacteristic penalties were too much to overcome as the Kenedy Lions slipped past the Woodsboro Eagles 28-14 last Friday night. The Eagles are now 1-4 as they head into district play. “We hurt ourselves tonight,” sa...

Latest Sports Headlines

Quintanilla, Whetsel selected to All-Stars
CORPUS CHRISTI — Refugio High School sophomore Travis Quintanilla and senior Shiloh Whetsel were selected to the 2012...
02:28 PM, Friday, January 27
full story
Canchola trains with 4-time Olympian
AUSTIN — Izac Canchola of Refugio trained with four-time Olympian Amy Acuff during a high-jump clinic in Austin on Ja...
02:13 PM, Friday, January 27
full story
Greyhounds bash Bobcats
REFUGIO – The Taft Greyhounds came to Refugio Tuesday night with an undefeated 5-0 district record and added one more...
02:16 PM, Thursday, January 26
full story
Little League sets registration dates
WOODSBORO _ Woodsboro Little League will hold three softball/baseball registrations and one late registration. Regist...
11:52 AM, Monday, January 23
full story
S-T Lady Cats edge Refugio girls
SKIDMORE – The Refugio Ladycats made a game of it on Friday night, late in the fourth quarter, but the host varsity g...
02:46 PM, Sunday, January 22
full story
Bobcats overrun Odem Owls
The Refugio Bobcats hung on to win another district basketball game in overtime, 63-61, at home on Tuesday, Jan. 10. ...
02:47 PM, Saturday, January 21
full story
Bobcat stars named MaxPreps All-American
REFUGIO — Three Bobcat all-state players were named to the second team of the MaxPreps U.S. Air Force Small Schools A...
02:26 PM, Thursday, January 19
full story
Whetsel’s sprint elected ‘2011 Play of the Year’
CORPUS CHRISTI — All-state running back Shiloh Whetsel’s scamper for a touchdown during the Premont game was selected...
02:32 PM, Wednesday, January 18
full story
Coaches vote Schneider into Hall of Honor
WOODSBORO — Retired Woodsboro coach Don Schneider led the Eagles into the state playoffs in basketball 14 times in th...
02:56 PM, Saturday, January 14
full story
Jan. 6-13 is Bobcat Week
REFUGIO — Hundreds of men, women and children formed a victory line at King’s Park to escort the 2011 Texas State 2A,...
02:46 PM, Friday, January 13
full story
Eagles named to 16A All-District football teams
WOODSBORO – Eight Woodsboro Eagle football players were named to the 2011 District 16-A Div. 2 All-District team. Fir...
02:50 PM, Thursday, January 12
full story
Cats begin district play with win over Bishop
BISHOP – The Refugio Bobcat basketball team began district play against Bishop following only one day of practice. Th...
11:52 AM, Saturday, January 07
full story
Bobcat ‘extravaganza’ is tonight in King’s Park
The town of Refugio will host a Bobcat Championship Extravaganza tonight (Thursday, Jan. 5) at the gazebo in King’s P...
02:05 PM, Thursday, January 05
full story
Horner inducted into Texas State Athletic Hall of Honor
By Stephen Collins Sports Editor, The Alvin Advertiser SAN MARCOS — Aubrey Horner, who served as a teacher and coach ...
02:49 PM, Friday, December 30
full story
Newsmakers of the year: Bobcats and 'Boro’s dome
This year, the Bobcats thrilled their fans, angered their opponents, and put themselves in the record books. At the b...
02:32 PM, Friday, December 30
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« newshound123 wrote on Sunday, Oct 19 at 12:33 PM »
« DifferentView2 wrote on Friday, Oct 10 at 05:53 PM »
« Sandys141 wrote on Wednesday, Oct 08 at 10:05 AM »
« Beeville wrote on Friday, Oct 03 at 09:07 PM »